Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of Iowa City

4.5

overall score based on 93 reviews

  • 59
  • 28
  • 4
  • 2
  • 0

Reviews with Comments

  • Jul 1, 2024

    Things have been pretty smooth lately with Dad. I'm also glad that the new barber, (name removed), has started at Bickford.

  • Apr 1, 2024

    We miss you!

  • Mar 1, 2024

    They are always extremely kind to my mother. The lady that cleans her room is very kind and gentle.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Great attention and care. Thank you!

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Good support for my father and quick repair of kitchen damage from water pipe rupture.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    The aides are all wonderful - great attitudes, kind, helpful, and patient.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Thanks

  • Oct 4, 2023

    The staff continue to be kind, energetic, and very attentive to (name removed) needs. I tend to see only those who work the later shifts and not the early shifts, but (name removed) has expressed appreciation and gratitude for all.

  • Sep 14, 2023

    I feel that my wife is safe and secure which is my highest goal.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Staff has been doing a great job with Dad after his return from rehab.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    My mom has been there for exactly two years and we have been very happy with everything.

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Iowa City

Assisted Living

Contact Us

Name(Required)