Stop by and visit us at Bickford of West Des Moines
Sip on your favorite drink on the porch at Bickford of West Des Moines
Snooze in your favorite chair in the living room at Bickford of West Des Moines
Have fun with themed and holiday meals in the private dining room at Bickford of West Des Moines
Enjoy homestyle food with made-from-scratch recipes in our dining room at Bickford of West Des Moines
Intimate enough to entertain your closest family; you can even host your next get together in the bistro at Bickford of West Des Moines
Enjoy a good book in the sitting area at Bickford of West Des Moines
Enjoy the view of the outdoors from the sunroom at Bickford of West Des Moines
With an easy access design, our whirlpool allows you to enjoy a warm bath safely and comfortably at Bickford of West Des Moines
Receive personalized, at-home treatment from our stylist in the salon at Bickford of West Des Moines
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of West Des Moines
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of West Des Moines
Residents can enjoy furniture covered in cozy fabrics in the Mary B’s living room at Bickford of West Des Moines
Enjoy bird watching, gardening and barbecuing in our courtyard at Bickford of West Des Moines
A single entrance courtyard gives residents with dementia the opportunity to be safe outside at Bickford of West Des Moines

Bickford of West Des Moines

 

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of West Des Moines

4.2

overall score based on 73 reviews

  • 42
  • 17
  • 7
  • 2
  • 5

Reviews with Comments

  • Jun 4, 2024

    This is (name removed), son of (name removed), and I'm still not receiving monthly statements for Mom's billing.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    I think the people who work at Bickford are wonderful and most do their best. There is a lot of love and kindness. I have no complaints with staff. There are just not enough employees to give the attention needed to some of the residents. Especially Mary B's. Because of this I often feel frustrated with my mom's appearance, and her quality of life. She shouldn't be sitting in a dirty wheelchair with dirty clothes. Clothes she was wearing the day before with food all over them. I don't believe this was the fault of the employee working as she was all alone and working hard. One person trying to take care of the current residents with all of their issues in this area does not appear to be sufficient or even safe. It's hard to understand why my mom pays nearly $120k per year for this level of care. I hate to give negative comments but my hope is that honest feedback brings change.

  • May 1, 2024

    I appreciate timely responses from (name removed) when I have inquiries. The staff is helpful and kind. Facility stays clean and tidy. An areas I would like to see improved is: 1. Laundry (especially soiled) is removed from the room in a timely fashion washed and returned.

  • May 1, 2024

    Staff @ Bickford is very helpful for my mother's care. (name removed) accommodates needs when issues arise & follows thru for results. (name removed) is very caring of all residents & consistently aides in taking care of my mother's needs, communication w/primary Dr, etc. Shout out to (name removed) for quality care for my mother's needs. There are others, but don't know all care givers names, name tags would be nice(my mother's recommendation). Hope to see outdoor activities in courtyard when weather is nice. (name removed) provide great meals. Mom suggests meatloaf & basic mash potatoes some time

  • Mar 3, 2024

    Staff continues to be caring for residents. Clean facility, nutritional meals and fun activities planned weekly.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Staff is courteous & helpful. (name removed) are very professional & provide answers to questions. They both help the staff & take care of residents as well. Very caring.

  • Jan 20, 2024

    bickford hasn't sent a bill to the long term care insurance for 2 months. My husband has tried to call to talk to someone early morning and 4:00 and they are already gone or not in yet. Someone was suppose to call him back a week and a half ago. Terrible way to do business!!!!! (name removed) room smells like urine. Things were damaged in her room and when we asked about it no one called us back. Things have come up missing from her room and no one will let us know what happened to them.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    I spent several years with Bic... and when I called Corporate to make an exception (and was told flat out NO) I said goodbye and moved on. The time i spent there was like a family, but that changed so I moved on and I'm not a bit sorry where I went I save money. There are so many perks and they're all paid for. I feel my move was godsend, but thank you Bickford for being that special part of my journey.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    I so appreciate all the staff that take care of my dad in Mary B's. They are respectful & patient with him & I've seen them sit & talk with him & take him for a walk. (names removed) have been very supportive for my mom & I & willing to listen to our concerns. Thank you!

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of West Des Moines

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)