Bickford of Sioux City

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Sioux City

4.4

overall score based on 280 reviews

  • 176
  • 65
  • 23
  • 10
  • 6

Reviews with Comments

  • Feb 10, 2024

    I wish I could see more of the leadership staff at memory care. They are busy somewhere else I guess. I am happy with the meals they have for memory care residents. I do wish that they would be more purposeful in getting residents to exercise. My LO is gaining weight. It's odd to see her gaining as she has never had a weight problem her whole life.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    I can't say enough good things about Bickford. It's simply the best care for your loved ones,

  • Feb 1, 2024

    My brother is happy there and that is what matters to us. Thank you for caring for him.

  • Feb 7, 2024

    The last few weeks with Mom's emotional and psychological roller coaster have been really rough. (name removed) has assured me that we'll get through this together and (name removed) has been amazingly caring and encouraging.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Best care for my loved one. Kind and caring place. They are all angels!

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Improved food easier to eat foods mashed potatoes and soft meat. Facility needs a new step for exercises

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Since (name removed) has no visitors, I believe he has received some extra attention over the holidays. He has enjoyed the delicious dinners. I appreciate the assistance he has been given to call me because I have trouble reaching him when I initiate the calls.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Very satisfied with the care my loved one is receiving. Very caring staff.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Very nice facility staff very friendly and accommodating for the short time that dad was there. Gob bless everyone who works there.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Only concern is bedbugs

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Poor communication, incredibly high increase in rent, a dog that was not good, bed bugs, general decline in my dads care

  • Nov 1, 2023

    They are prompt to any need or concern I may have about my mother's care.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Very satisfied with Bickford. Great people and wonderful care! They are simply the best!

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Bickford is a wonderful place for your loved ones. They are a very caring staff set in a lovely facility. I have been very satisfied with the care they are giving my loved one.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    I have asked every week to have (name removed). Room Air condutioning turned up! I come to visit her she has two jackets and many blankets on to keep herself warm .Her room is like a freezer! I myself like it on the cool side, but her room is. Down right rediculous COLD. I can complain until I am blue in the face but nothing get done. I have told my mom to say something,but the staff ignores her requests right a long with my requests.for what she is charged each month she shouldn't have to be cold 24/7

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Renates room always smells like urine.I feel garbage needs changed daily at least and bed and chair needs checked.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    I think it's wonderful the way that you spend time with the residence. They all seem so happy and delighted in their days and that is so important given their debilitating illnesses. Thank you so much for what you do.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    Very satisfied with Bickford. Loving caretakers and staff. The best place for your loved one in a beautiful setting.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    Bickford facility, care & staff are the best!

  • Aug 1, 2023

    I appreciate the staff letting me know my moms status.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    All of your staff is excellent.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Bickford is a very lovely place with kind and caring staff. I can sleep at night knowing my love one is getting the best care possible in a loving environment.

  • Jul 11, 2023

    4 | We have been trying to get acclimated to memory care after assisted living. Mom has not been accepting her lack of independence and the many changes she has been through since December of last year! The staff at Bickford has been trying hard to accommodate Mom and our many questions as a family. I am learning a lot about Dementia and from what I see and have learned, it is a horrible disease both to have and to support a loved one through!! In addition to Bickford's help, I have found two websites that have been a great help to me: https://em.agingcare.com/v/MzA1LVpYWi00NjYAAAGNWoNPodMDqXBvCYI_VQn_ycUYmYSl2-XIdOWa8k6I2qJGTO9uCs7zTDsnyFMJtGR2hSaHmUQ= And mary@yourdementiatherapist.com This is a hard journey to be on with your loved one. I encourage you to keep asking those questions, do your research and keep loving your loved one!

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Bickford is amazing! Mom is happy and they keep her involved with daily activities! Everything is kept clean and she enjoys her meals with her friends! So happy I choose this amazing home for her! Thank you Bickford Memoy Care! | | Of course!

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Bickford is a very wonderful place for your loved ones. The staff are all very caring and go out of their way to help in any way they can.

  • Jun 2, 2023

    (Name Removed) fell out of bed. Luckily she was only bruised. I was not notified. I saw the bruises on her and questioned it. Someone looked in a manual and found the occurrence.

  • Jun 2, 2023

    I dont know what i would do without Bickford. Lovely setting, delicious meals and lots of activities for your loved one and compassionite care.

  • May 1, 2023

    Mom gets the best care! Caring and engaged staff keeps mom busy and involved in daily activities!

  • May 1, 2023

    They take good care of my wife. I am concerned about the large turnover of employees

  • May 1, 2023

    Bickfords staff are all very caring and kind and take excellent care of my loved one.

  • May 1, 2023

    5 with the workers and her care. 1 on her clothes that keep disappearing. She lost so many on the AL side and now it's happening on MC side also. It's in her service plan that family will do laundry because of this but it's still happening.

  • Apr 1, 2023

    I feel they don't take my mother out of her room very much she is not the type to complain and will sit in her room all day unless some just takes her our in a wheel chair.not force her to walk with a walker she is just too weak !!!. Sake like to be around others even though she can't hear or see very well! The techs most of them are very rough with her. After all she is just 96 lbs and frile when they pick her up they just jerk her. I feel the techs when are new should be cautioned and trained how to handle the more frill residents. In fact the older ones need to review this also!

  • Mar 1, 2023

    Between Bickford and hospice, it has definitely taken a very large load off my shoulders. Thanks for all you do and all you have put up with. I feel like I can finally be her niece instead of her nurse

  • Mar 1, 2023

    Love the communication!

  • Mar 1, 2023

    Bickford has wonderful activities for Mom! She is busy most of the day engaged in them along with her new friends she has made. It's a blessing to have Mom in a safe environment, socializing and eating good meals. She smiles again which makes her family happy too!

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Sioux City

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)