Bickford of Okemos

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Okemos

4.5

overall score based on 158 reviews

  • 107
  • 36
  • 7
  • 5
  • 3

Reviews with Comments

  • Feb 2, 2024

    Bickford staff have gone above and beyond to make Mom feel welcome in her new apartment. The meals are tasty and activities are fun. Mom appreciates that someone knocks on her door to remind about meals and activities, and she feels at home.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Would like to see more effort to get my mom out walking. Whether in the building or outside (weather permitting). For some reason she doesn't prefer to walk laps inside. Also concerned with the 1 week delay between UI diagnosis and prescription. Not sure where the breakdown was, and not wanting to assign blame, I know you're all working hard. What could be done to make that turn faster? | And I appreciate you asking for it.

  • Feb 2, 2024

    We are so thankful for a caring staff to help us navigate health issues with our parents.

  • Feb 6, 2024

    We love Bickford. We tell people that we love Bickford. Our mother is happy there. She says she's "comfortable" there. She has been in several rooms at Bickford over the four years. She's been there. Staff has changed, but it has remained an excellent facility.

  • Jan 11, 2024

    I thought the visit from the guy that sang and played guitar was nice.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I'm very happy with the attitude and effort everyone brings to their work. (name removed) was super helpful around getting mom's tv installed, and (name removed) even let me in his workspace and left it unlocked for me.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Bickford of Okemos has a wonderful director and a core team of compassionate and caring staff. I'm just sorry that some of the very best staff who have been loyal to Bickford for years aren't compensated better and are leaving. These experienced, multi-year staffers provide the best care and have made Bickford of Okemos stand out from other facilities. The very fact that Bickford has been able to retain staffers for years gives families the confidence that our loved ones are well-cared for. Yet there is only so much the director can do. It's a real disappointment that the corporate office doesn't recognize and value the longevity, importance and contribution of long-term staffers.

  • Jan 3, 2024

    (name removed) is a gift.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Things seem to have been steadily improving at bickford since the current Director took charge. The difference is amazingly positive. Very pleased.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Everyone one on the team is very thoughtful and kind. I know you're all quite busy but yet seem to be so available to mom and me. Thank you.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    So many things this month to include in Thanksgiving appreciation and including the Bickford family. They put on a lovely Holiday dinner as well as many activities. So grateful. Decorations are thoughtfully planned and placed and include the dining area and residents doors! Thank you for making this so homey for our loved ones!

  • Dec 1, 2023

    (name removed) is an excellent director and is responsible for creating a positive atmosphere that keeps excellent staff from leaving despite pay that is lower than other facilities. Excellent staff create an excellent experience for residents.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    I believe things have approved greatly under your current Director.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Leave me alone

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Excellent staff - all of which is due to (name removed), the building director. Good staff will not stay in a poorly run facility and where they are not appreciated.

  • Oct 5, 2023

    Very thankful for Bickfords wonderful caring staff. Have entrusted their care to several family members and trust their care. They are responsive and caring to include the kitchen staff preparing special meals to the facilities person helping with a shower issue. The staff feeds those who can't feed themselves and makes sure all are included and well cared for- I don't know what I would do without their support and guidance!

  • Oct 2, 2023

    I was so impressed with the cider mill trip. The staff all pitched in to help all the residents have a great outing. It was fun to watch the teamwork and their thoughtful caring with each of the residents. Mom said she was glad she went.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    My mom is settling in nicely. The caregivers are so kind and caring. I'm happy with my choice of Bickford of Okemos for my mom.

  • Sep 2, 2023

    Thank you for all you do. I appreciated the rapid response to my emails this week and including Mom in more activities.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    It's been an amazing turnaround. The Okemos Bickford is once again a stand out in the community for its caring atmosphere, professional staff, and excellent director.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    (Name Removed) is extremely responsive to any requests. Made sure mom got a ride to her 89th birthday lunch, so we could meet her at the restaurant. Very helpful to us.

  • Aug 7, 2023

    I would rate at 4.9 We struggled a little with the laundry scheduling a little, but overall pretty satisfied.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Biggest concerns: getting Mom engaged in activities and cleanliness of toilet. Appreciated the Family Meeting yesterday. (Name Removed) is committed to insuring Bickford is a homy community of well cared for residents. Staff are always responsive to call light and very caring to Mom. Appreciate everyone wearing name tags!! Thanks for all you do.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    (Name Removed) gets high marks for her constant and continual efforts to create a welcoming and supportive atmosphere and to hire and keep excellent staff. Next to having the right director, the staff and staffing is the key to everything - at least for memory care - because without good staff and enough staff the experience is miserable.

  • Aug 2, 2023

    (Name Removed) is wonderful and clearly is delighted to be working for your organization. (Name Removed) is a gift in all the ways. (Name Removed) is delightful and cheerful. I don't see (Name Removed) much anymore but the folks in the very back where mom was in Mary B for a while are also extremely dedicated and beautiful humans. There are so many good people there, I'm so grateful. The new cook whose name I am blanking on is really courteous with the residents, She always comes out after they have mostly eaten and asks how they are and whether they want more. My mother is hearing impaired and also kind of too polite to ask for more so they've started just giving her extra vegetables which is what she will eat without prompting. They also have learned to not put cheese on her food anymore which really helps her want to eat it. She grew up on a farm and cheese is not appetizing to her. Except, for some reason, grilled cheese sandwiches which have a sentimental memory attached.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Appreciate the techs and (Name Removed)- extra efforts with my dads continued leg/foot care - "happy place monitoring" and needing addtl communication with Drs and med providers this last month ! Such a challenge - but not completely daunting with the Bickford Team ! Thanks for the great job and professionalism !

  • Jul 3, 2023

    Appreciate all (Name Removed) did to help figure out how to reduce expenses and a room that worked for Mom. Lots of new staff, all very caring and nice. Would appreciate name tags since I can't always remember their names even after I've asked. Oxygen has been a little tricky, not everyone well versed on managing changing tanks. Also would appreciate getting Mom out of her room as much as possible tho I know not all activities are appropriate given her hearing and vision limitations. (Name Removed) (spelling) very thoughtful. Love the Mickey Mouse pillow she brought Mom. (Name Removed), (Name Removed) and (Name Removed) are wonderful. Thanks so much to everyone for all the great care.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Thank you for ensuring my mom receives the newspapers (Detroit Free Press and Lansing State Journal) that she pays for!

  • Jun 2, 2023

    Staff has gone above and beyond with extra care for my dads health care needs - plus I also see on a continual basis staff doing extra daily things for comfort and care of other residents - appreciate the great effort

  • Jun 2, 2023

    It is at the staff level where positive experiences for residents happen and (Name Removed) deserves recognition for her efforts to build a caring and competent staff. I also think (Name Removed) (in MB) deserves extra appreciation. I have seen first hand hand her dedication to the residents, her patience with challenging behaviors, and the truly excellent level of care she delivers.

  • Jun 4, 2023

    Your people are everything. (Name Removed)is the best culture leader I've seen in a long time. It's rare to find a leader of such heart, anywhere. I am particularly happy with how well the direct care and support work humans are treated. Mom was at a previous rehab for over a year and the management acted as if Mom's "safety buddies" were not trustworthy to know things that truly impacted them. They were the 24/7 backbone and they were aware there were things treated as secrets that were absolutely reasonable for them to know while giving care. (Name Removed), new care team members, are impressive.

  • May 2, 2023

    I am continually pleased with the staff. There are too many names to remember and I'm sad that I can't get them all in here. This month, I watched (Name Removed) and (Name Removed) make sure that a gentleman who was very shaky always had support when he was walking even though they had to run at times. The new young lady (Name Removed) is delightful. (Name Removed), (Name Removed), (Name Removed), (Name Removed), always (Name Removed). I met (Name Removed) and she seems lovely, too. Why can't I think of the maintenance gentleman's name? Mom is having a few more bad memory days, and staff have really supported me when it's hard for me to leave the building. Mom seems to think I'm going to take her home lately. It's really hard and they are great. Please take a good look at what isn't working in your kitchen for your cooks to turn over so fast. There must be a system problem not merely a staff problem. we (including myself in your team) want to keep (Name Removed) happy.

  • Mar 5, 2023

    The staff continues to impress me. They work hard and are attentive to the residents. (Name Removed), (Name Removed), and (Name Removed) are always extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Mar 1, 2023

    The employees consent to be amazing. The new cook and new caregiver (Name Removed) have gone out of their way for mom this week.

  • Mar 1, 2023

    Night and Day improvement! My mom's apartment is the tidiest I have ever seen and have enjoyed meeting the new staff. Many thanks to (Name Removed), as well as (Name Removed), (Name Removed), and (Name Removed), among others!!

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Okemos

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)