Stop by for a tour at Bickford of Middletown
Sip on your favorite drink in the pergola at Bickford of Middletown
Relax in your favorite chair on the porch at Bickford of Middletown
Enjoy a good book in the living room at Bickford of Middletown
Have fun with themed and holiday meals in the private dining room at Bickford of Middletown
Enjoy restaurant-style meals served three times a day in our dining room at Bickford of Middletown
We’re serving up snacks, beverages and service around the clock in the bistro at Bickford of Middletown
Enjoy a good snooze in the sitting area at Bickford of Middletown
Strut on in and find out what the buzz is all about in the salon at Bickford of Middletown
With an easy access design, our whirlpool allows you to enjoy a warm bath safely and comfortably at Bickford of Middletown
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Middletown
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Middletown
Chairs and sofas sit higher and are easier to get in and out of in the Mary B’s living room at Bickford of Middletown
Residents with dementia receive additional assistance with meals in our Mary B’s dining room at Bickford of Middletown
Residents with dementia can enjoy a traveling path, relaxed seating and raised garden beds in the courtyard at Bickford of Middletown
We’re happy to coordinate your transportation needs to appointments aboard the Bickford bus HOWIE at Bickford of Middletown

Bickford of Middletown

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Middletown

4.3

overall score based on 141 reviews

  • 92
  • 18
  • 16
  • 7
  • 8

Reviews with Comments

  • Apr 1, 2024

    (name removed) is an awesome chef who shows a love of her skills in preparing nutritious meals. Thank you (name removed) for sharing! Nurses : (name removed) are the best and take special care of our mom. (name removed) is a truly amazing person who shows complete dignity and compassion for the residents. She does a fantastic job of providing events and socials for the residents. We appreciate her so much!!

  • Mar 1, 2024

    Everyone is sooo good to (name removed). I really appreciate that. Thank you

  • Mar 1, 2024

    We appreciate so much how all Bickford Family Members go above and beyond to take care of my mom- and now my father-in-law too. We love you guys!

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Everyone was just wonderful taking care of mom after her fall. They were so helpful after I brought her back from the hospital. I felt mom was going to get all the care and attention she needed. Thanks!

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Shout out to (name removed) who went above and beyond to help me/mom with a few things during my quarantine with Covid!

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Nurses: (name removed) have been awesome! (name removed) in housekeeping was amazing! Thank You to (name removed) and the other aides for being so welcoming when we come into visit Mom.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I was not notified when Covid shots were being give so my mom probably didn't get hers. Also, I had requested mom be seen by the podiatrist. I even went to Bickford to make sure mom was seen. I was then told that the podiatrist had an emergency and would reschedule. I asked to be notified of the reschedule and was not notified. Mom has been at Bickford for 9 months and hasn't been seen by the podiatrist to my knowledge. | I appreciate (name removed) prompt response to my concerns. The general attitude at Bickford seems much improved since her promotion

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Mom seems happy. Care has been very good.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I appreciate all the staff members so much for their kindness and care to our mom. Cindy in particular goes above and beyond and it means so much. (names removed) have also been amazing in their efforts to get my father-in-law settled and make him m feel comfortable. Love you guys!

  • Dec 1, 2023

    I'd really appreciate it if you'd stop calling me (name removed). This is (name removed), (name removed) daughter and power of attorney. (name removed) is my husband and he's not involved in decisions regarding mom's care. | Ugh

  • Dec 1, 2023

    My mother and I think she should be at a level1 and be reimbursed for the overcharges. Also, I am required to buy her groceries because the food is terrible.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    It's (name removed), (name removed) daughter, not (name removed) (name removed) son in law. Would have liked more notice of the rate increase. Lack of response to email is a concern.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Thank You to : (names removed) (her big smile and awesome attitude). (names removed) are always so positive and friendly. Appreciate (names removed) for their smiles and acknowledgment of the residents and visitors.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Our family wants to thank everyone at Bickford for their excellent care of our father who passed away Monday, Oct.23. From the activity director to the nurses and aides. He was more than just a resident there. His many friends stopped in to visit him in his last days which brought a smile to his face and gave us, his family, some comfort. Thank you all.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    (names removed) are fantastic. (name removed) called me immediately when Mom fell to let me know what happened. I appreciate his promptness and professionalism. I met Chef (name removed) and had a great conversation. An awesome lady with a serving heart to the residents. We appreciate her loving and giving attitude to all. I also spoke to (names removed) and they too have a serving attitude and infectious smiles. I noticed from a far, (name removed) was professional and caring with residents. Appreciate his positive attitude. | (name removed) the aide always has a great smile and very polite.

  • Oct 2, 2023

    Food has improved, but lunch room service is still very poor. Can not depend on aides to be on schedule for baths.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    Looking forward to the referral bonus next bill! That's a great program. The extra care mom needed for a few days this month. She felt very attended to.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    Thank You for the great attitudes, care and love you give Mom and the rest of the residents ! Nurses who have been extra helpful were: (Name Removed) Thank you !

  • Sep 4, 2023

    I'm Driving - Sent from My Car | Thank you all so much for your kind care and for easing my mother's path!

  • Sep 1, 2023

    My Dad and a friend both say there are problems with dietary. Poor food quality preparation and quantity. Thank you

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Everyone is very helpful

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Beautiful new carpet in common areas. Great nursing. Good communication from staff. Trying to get mom to participate in activities. Move in referral bonus!

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Staff are patient and very courteous to my Dad.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    (Names Removed) have been very informative about Mom's status. Also (Name Removed) in dietary support has been super nice and a great attitude! Love her smile and positive attitude towards Mom and the other residents. | I sincerely appreciate (Names Removed) updates!

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Visited my Dad issues with low staffing and running out of food, poor food quality

  • Aug 10, 2023

    Very poorly run , very dirty.!

  • Jul 2, 2023

    (Name Removed) not responding to emails or phone calls or even confirming she reads emails is unprofessional.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Personal care to make sure mom knew how family was going in surgery when we couldn't get to see mom that day till evening! I would text (Name Removed) and she would update mom. Thanks to (Name Removed)!

  • Jul 2, 2023

    (Name Removed) has concern for Mom's physical and mental status, notifying me of her extreme glucose changes and following up with information on her mood changes that he has noticed. (Name Removed) has been exceptionally helpful to me these last few months. THANK YOU to (Name Removed) for ALL that he does! It does not go unnoticed. We appreciate his professionalism, genuine care and positive attitude for Mom and the other residents.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    After 5 years of consistently getting his toenails trimmed with the podiatrist, our dad has been left out. This means approximately 3 months without foot care. We are very distressed about this. The weekend/ holiday meals are often very late being served due to staff shortage, the outside furniture is covered with cat hair making it unpleasant to sit outside, and finally, I've called the past two days requesting to speak with Cecilie and have not received a call back from anyone. Thank goodness it wasn't an emergency.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Actually thought less than 1, but your system won't accept that. Continued poor planning in dining room stables resulted in running out of bacon and bread this morning for breakfast. This happens so many Sundays - at times they have run out of coffee which along with toast is a requirement for breakfast. Dryer continues to be an issue - ducts need to be cleaned - fire hazard if they are clogged.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    As always the kindness of your Mary B's staff is much appreciated!

  • Jun 2, 2023

    We love all of The Bickford staff. (Name Removed) is awesome, as well as the BFMs who take care of our mom. The new aide named (Name Removed) has been doing an amazing job. She and our mom have already formed a bond after just a few days. Thanks for everything you do!

  • Jun 2, 2023

    Thank You so much for the Mother's Day Tea. (Name Removed) is awesome with her ideas for the residents to stay involved with the activities. Nurses are also fantastic! We appreciate all that they do ! (Name Removed)! Aide's always show smiles and caring attitude! (Name Removed). Dining aide (Name Removed) has been very helpful and supportive! (Name Removed) are awesome too ! Thank you for making Mom feel at home !

  • Jun 3, 2023

    Excellent caring staff

  • May 1, 2023

    If I could get responses to emails within 3-5 business days it would be appreciated. Having to hassle the staff for an answer is annoying for everyone.

  • May 1, 2023

    Quick response to mom when she passed at at dinner. My only suggestion is to serve diabetics their food first since they have gotten insulin

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Middletown

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)