Bickford of Tinley Park

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Tinley Park

4.3

overall score based on 125 reviews

  • 72
  • 30
  • 15
  • 5
  • 3

Reviews with Comments

  • Jan 2, 2024

    We've been experiencing some issues with communication regarding some health related issues my mom is having. I had to go above the head nurse and talk to (name removed). The communication hasn't really gotten better although it was evident there were attempts made. My mom was supposed to be given a cream as they called it for her sore bottom but 4 days later I went out and bought it myself. We waited from Thursday until Tuesday to get a result on a urine test and today I went to ask if they had it and the nurse said no. He faxed the lab and he then had the results and now says he'll send them to the doctor. I know it was the holiday but this is a very long time if she indeed does need an antibiotic. | And I appreciate you asking me for a review.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I rated 2 because I was not notified that my mother has RSV and I'm the power of attorney for medical.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    (name removed) has been phenomenally helpful, so caring and diligent with my mom's needs!! We are so very grateful!!

  • Dec 1, 2023

    I was approved for a rate ceiling in September of 2021. Today I am paying $1K/mo over that ceiling

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Nursing and CNA care very good. Compassionate nurses and CNA's. Dietary is horrible. For 2 Sundays my dad has received 4 oz soup for his dinner. That is despicable. Please address this problem.

  • Sep 28, 2023

    Ultimately her residency at Bickford benefits her safety. As much as I would love to have her in her home with her things, she is much safer, her pills are regulated. She eats more often, and although her mind and memory is slowly failing, she remembers the important things and people. I waver; back-and-forth, as to whether taking her from there, and living with her in her own home would be better, overall, there are moments that might be, but her current situation gives her the independence that we believe she needs… Living with someone would not give her that autonomy. It’s not the autonomy we imagine for ourselves, but it is what’s right for this stage in her life. I can’t do everything she needs done, when I visit I never know what her mood will be. She has lost touch with lots of people but when I prompt her to reach out sometimes she’s not interested anymore. Then there are times that she misses that part of her life. As a daughter, I am doing the best I can to make her weeks pass smoothly and her days as happy as they can be. As long as she’s healthy and safe, I believe that Bickford provides the surroundings necessary for this stage in her life. Having a home and a pet to take care of are beyond her capabilities at this point, they’re beyond my capabilities at times. I just love her and so does my brother and we just want her to remain with us as long as she can, and be a part of our lives in whatever capacity that is. I am certain you'd want the same things for your Mom or Dad.

  • Sep 3, 2023

    My mother has not been eating because she continues to tell us the food is horrible, raw potatoes, burnt food, meat she can't chew. The only days she eats is when they order out from jewel or pizza. I've talked to the director and she has told me she is in the process of hiring a new cook, but in the meantime my mothers nutrition is a big concern, not to say she pays way to much monthly to not be fed well.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    They have been missing staff in the kitchen, so they are using other staff which is messing up things in other areas. My mother has been waiting way to long after pushing her button.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Everyone is trying to do the best they can. A difficult month, but with God's blessing and help we will succeed

  • Jun 2, 2023

    So far, so good. No complaints

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Tinley Park

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)