Welcome to Bickford of Marshalltown
Enjoy conversations with friends on the porch at Bickford of Marshalltown
Snooze in your favorite chair in the living room at Bickford of Marshalltown
Food is best when shared with friends in the dining room at Bickford of Marshalltown
Celebrate special occasions in the private dining room at Bickford of Marshalltown
Enjoy a good book in the sitting area at Bickford of Marshalltown
Relax in the warmth of the sunroom at Bickford of Marshalltown
Receive personalized, at-home treatment from our stylist in the salon at Bickford of Marshalltown
Our whirlpool bathtub creates a spa-like environment tailored to enhance your relaxation and enjoyment at Bickford of Marshalltown
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Marshalltown
Feel like you’re on your own back porch in our courtyard at Bickford of Marshalltown
Participate in community outings aboard the Bickford bus HOWIE at Bickford of Marshalltown

Bickford of Marshalltown

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Marshalltown

4.3

overall score based on 166 reviews

  • 95
  • 46
  • 7
  • 8
  • 10

Reviews with Comments

  • Mar 1, 2024

    Always the staff is great

  • Feb 2, 2024

    Noted |

  • Feb 1, 2024

    I appreciate how the staff is so attentive to our mom (and other residents). When we ask questions- they are familiar with how she has been feeling & what activities she is involved with. (name removed) are good with answering questions & returning calls or texts. We are very thankful for EVERYONE at Bickford.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Little more communication from the overnight staff would be helpful so I don't walk into what I did this last weekend Un prepared

  • Dec 2, 2023

    I was grateful to attend a very nice Thanksgiving dinner alongside my Dad, and I could see that everyone was having a fun time.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    (names removed) stay on top of things there. Great job girls

  • Nov 1, 2023

    I thank all the care givers, kitchen staff- everyone-at Bickford for taking such good care of (name removed). She is thriving & enjoying her golden years. We are thankful for ALL of you!!

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Overall happy with the care at the local branch, but considering a move due to the rising costs. I emailed a VP at the corporate office with no return reply. Nearing $8000 a month is a little bit ridiculous even considering exceptional care.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Done | C the food has been warmer and I do appreciate the gals doing that. Still have a hard time with the food. Try to eat 1/2 serving of veg and meat. Ca.e out my door to go to breakfast and the guy across the hall ((name removed)) left his door open this morning and the hall smelled horrid and the dog was sleeping in the hallway. Not good.

  • Oct 2, 2023

    Very helpful in trying to get the insurance to pay for dad's stay a Bickford, Thanks very much.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    I wish the director was more visible. I do not see interaction with her and the residence at all

  • Aug 1, 2023

    My grandfather smells heavily of urine. How can you be okay with that?

  • Aug 1, 2023

    5

  • Aug 1, 2023

    They already know what my issue is with Mom going a week (twice now) without a shower.

  • Jul 6, 2023

    The staff has been great at Bickford. Mom requires a lot of help with things and she keeps them pretty busy, but they always seem so happy and willing to do whatever she needs. Bless their hearts! Thanks Bickford for making her stay there enjoyable.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Sure

  • Jun 2, 2023

    Your staff is the best, sweet all the time, even when working overtime or multiple days in a row, still sweet and kind.

  • May 1, 2023

    My Sister gets wonderful care. Thank you

  • May 1, 2023

    (Name Removed) is the best so sweet and very caring. She gives me updates when she's concerned. Love her.

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Marshalltown

Assisted Living

Contact Us

Name(Required)