Stop by and visit us at Bickford of Chesapeake
Sip on your favorite drink on the porch at Bickford of Chesapeake
Socialize with friends in the living room at Bickford of Chesapeake
Mingle and converse with old and new friends alike in the bistro at Bickford of Chesapeake
Food is best when shared with family and friends in the private dining room at Bickford of Chesapeake
Enjoy homestyle food with made-from-scratch recipes in our dining room at Bickford of Chesapeake
Relax with a good puzzle in the activity room at Bickford of Chesapeake
Love your own stylist? She’s welcome to take care of you in the salon at Bickford of Chesapeake
Curl up with a good book in the sunroom at Bickford of Chesapeake
Enjoy a good book in the sitting area at Bickford of Chesapeake
Hydrotherapy eases achy joints in our whirlpool at Bickford of Chesapeake
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Chesapeake
Feel like you’re on your own back porch in our courtyard at Bickford of Chesapeake
Mary B’s living room provides a smaller, more intimate setting to encourage interaction at Bickford of Chesapeake
Mary B’s country kitchen evokes a sense of home and reconnects residents to past life skills at Bickford of Chesapeake
A single entrance courtyard gives residents with dementia the opportunity to be safe outside at Bickford of Chesapeake

Bickford of Chesapeake

 

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of Chesapeake

3.9

overall score based on 156 reviews

  • 55
  • 58
  • 23
  • 11
  • 9

Reviews with Comments

  • Jul 1, 2024

    There are a few things that critically affected our dad moving into Bickford. First, there was no orientation at all for the resident or his family. We didn't know how meals worked, how dad would receive his medications, how to sign dad in and out, etc. Second, my dad was exposed to a contagious viral infection within the first week of moving in. This resulted in him being hospitalized for pneumonia. There were no precautions taken to avoid exposing healthy residents from an obvious illness among his neighbors. The last item that I will cover here is that I found it surprising that there is apparently no process or procedure for taking medications in or out. Medications were handed back and forth in grocery bags with no record being made of the exchange.

  • Jul 1, 2024

    Something that would be helpful to the family members is placing a wagon or cart near the entrance for family members to use to bring groceries or other items to the residents.

  • Jul 1, 2024

    As today, July 1st, my mother's post hospital discharge medication list (June 15th was the discharge date) does not match what is in the Bickford of Chesapeake's med system, nor have I received a response to my emails and nor have I received any information about the incorrect medication distribution investigation that I was told I would receive - the exact words were "in full transparency..."

  • Jun 22, 2024

    For several weeks now, my dad's room is crawling with worms. Both myself and my sister have reported this many times to (name removed) and they keep saying they're going to spray and they have sprayed, but it has not addressed the problem. There are still multiple worms, crawling around my father's room. This is unacceptable. There's also a dead cockroach in his bathroom. This needs to be addressed as soon as possible.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    Very happy with the care my mother gets from Bickford.

  • May 1, 2024

    If you want to know my comments, you can call me

  • Apr 1, 2024

    The morning BFMs that dress my dad don't appear to read or follow his care plan. Most times my dad's teeth fall out because they NEVER use any Polygrip to help his teeth stay in. They don't put his compression socks on him so I threw all his other socks in the garbage so that they don't have any other options but to put his compression socks on. I have sent emails, made phone calls and even typed up his morning and nightly routine and hung it up ALL OVER HIS ROOM and still something is missed most days. It's great to have a care plan and to keep it up-to-date, but it doesn't appear that they read it so what's the point?

  • Apr 1, 2024

    New staff is being added everyday and it's hard on them to be sure if doing the little things that need to be done. They are stretched very thin. When your activities director can't do activities because she's driving the bus to medical appointments...that's a problem. Also we have to wait two or three days into the new month for the newsletter with schedules and menus. This makes it hard to plan.

  • Mar 1, 2024

    I was informed The patient needed a plastic cover for mattress. I provided one the following day. I visited a week later, it had not been put on the bed. I requested patient's mail be held in the office and I would get it when I visited. That hasn't happened. I find medical bills in patient's room opened...have to deal with my not knowing there are bills to be paid.

  • Mar 1, 2024

    Love the Bickford of Chesapeake just wish they had someone there that answers the phone quicker when you call there.

  • Feb 4, 2024

    I am very concerned about the staffing issues that seem to continue but also thankful for the management's efforts to assist staff. Have you considered using travel agency staff, at least until staffing stabilizes? I am disappointed in the lack of consideration of my Dad's isolation and need for social interaction. The nsg assistants are very busy and I do understand that they do not have time just to sit with him and chat. When I asked about what could be done, I was told that the focus was supposed to be on the large group community activities and not for individuals. Really? Considering that we also paid the activity fee, it seems only right that more effort should be made to provide one-on-one interaction with Dad and to consider his unique needs. I am sure he's not the only one in this situation.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    I went out of town assuming the level of wound care for my Mom would remain the same. There was a total breakdown in communication and an aggressive infection was allowed to linger on my mother's leg for 7 days with no sense of urgency in getting her in an antibiotic. Thank goodness we had an outside wound care nurse coming in that helped us get through to the NP. Mom's wound care has been extended due to the infection. I would have thought that in a assisted living facility anytime infection is near it would be a priority. Not the case here. I am trying to get a meeting with the Director and nurses, I was told they did not receive my distressed email.

  • Feb 4, 2024

    My dad is supposed to be wearing compression socks every day and most days they are not put on his legs. I have gone over this with (name removed) several time, I have sent several emails and still he's not being put in his compression socks every day. | Thank God for (name removed) because she is so awesome. She checks on him most mornings and she corrects the problem. | There seems to be a lot of dead batteries in my dad's life alert bracelet, and when that happens it triggers him to panic. What's going on with the batteries for the life alerts?

  • Jan 4, 2024

    The past few weeks have been a challenge because of Covid, but I would like to commend the staff on their hard work in containing this and helping the residents who contracted it. I would like to compliment the Director (name removed) for her efforts and for being there as needed to help out the residents and the staff members. I would like to compliment, nurses (names removed) for their help with not only my dad, but with the other residents who needed assistance during this challenging time. Lastly I would like to commend the staff for trying their best to keep up the level of care despite the challenges of staffing and quarantine, etc. Thank you.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    5 the facility has done a good job with managing the challenges of multiple Covid cases. (name removed) has done an amazing job with creating creative game opportunities for those residents confined to their rooms.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    (name removed) has been amazingly responsive. Our mom is having trouble adjusting to life at Bickford after coming from an independent living facility and knowing/remembering who to reach out to when she needs something

  • Nov 1, 2023

    It saddens me that a resident can be stuck in their room for almost a week and no one trys to figure out why

  • Nov 2, 2023

    (name removed) and I both have been in contact about recent concerns. Please feel free to reach out.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    Every piece of underpants were missing 10 Pair and all long and pants and shorts were missing...not in the laundry...most discouraging

  • Aug 1, 2023

    (Name Removed) is definitely the heart of Bickford

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Done

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Stop by and visit us at Bickford of Chesapeake

Bickford of Chesapeake

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)