Bickford of Virginia Beach

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Virginia Beach

4.3

overall score based on 150 reviews

  • 91
  • 32
  • 17
  • 6
  • 4

Reviews with Comments

  • Feb 1, 2024

    I am very pleased with the care my mother is getting at Bickford Virginia Beach. She has a better quality of life and is enjoying some socialization in a safe environment. The staff is top notch. Thank you, Bickford VB.

  • Feb 2, 2024

    Many times activities seem to be cancelled or not held as scheduled.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Mom is still not getting her hair washed, on a regular basis, during showers. I would rate you as a 5 if that occurred more often.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Mom has been there 4 years and still loves it there......we all love the staff and residence.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Staff is kind and considerate and does their best in caretaking for Mom. We are so blessed to be a part of Bickford VB.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Very understaffed and everyone is sick

  • Jan 2, 2024

    The staff has been so amazing and supportive through this difficult time with my mother. They all cared deeply for my mother which I am so grateful for.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    My mother has been there almost 4 years and still loves it. The staff continues to be awesome, kind and attentive.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    I am so grateful for the staff at Bickford. I would rate a 10 if it was an option. They are always kind and do their best for my loved one. I highly recommend Bickford Virginia Beach to others looking for a safe and comfortable place for their loved ones. ❤️

  • Nov 1, 2023

    The people that have employed, who work with the patients are Wonderful!! The person I spoke with before my mom moved in, (name removed), I do not feel I was given all the correct information. I was told that the fee would be $5100.00 per month. Nothing about an additional for assessment. It is now $2000.00+ more than I was told. I am not happy with this and feel I was not given all the information. As for my signing the paperwork, I was very stressed and just wanted to get through it and that was done quickly and not properly explained that there would be more charges other than television which was $50.00 per month. Very sad and not a way to begin a good relationship!!

  • Oct 4, 2023

    The food quality continues to be a challenge and there isn't a lot of confidence in staff respondency or competency but there are some staff members that are phenomenal.

  • Oct 2, 2023

    My mother loves the staff there. They take good care of her.

  • Sep 11, 2023

    1. August Health DOB for my mother is incorrect. DOB is (removed) Please fix this. 2. Her bathroom has been out of TP the last two visits. 3. I haven't seen a care plan for (name removed) since July of 2022. 4. She has a tremendous backlog of incontinence briefs-I don't think she's changing them. Is supposed to be on her care plan 5. For a dementia focused AL, the shower taps are confusing-Mom can't figure them out. 6. I emailed that her room key needed the room number tag replaced, as the current one was worn, and it makes her anxious to not have her room number on her key. Was told it would be done, not done-I gave her the tag from my entry fob.

  • Sep 13, 2023

    My mother continues to love the staff.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    I am very impressed with the entire Bickford staff and the beautiful facility. Each staff member is caring, professional, compassionate. They have made the transition for my loved one smooth and my heart is at ease knowing they are living at the Bickford.

  • Sep 3, 2023

    Staff who cannot wear a smile for every resident and actually do "whatever it takes" should seek another line of work.

  • Jul 3, 2023

    Lack of cleaning person for 10 days made my Mom's room messy and unclean. Replace clothes dryer. The facility needs more variety of dinner options, not ham/bean casserole & barley mushroom soup often. More options for alternative dishes for meals, as well. Refresher course for staff on how to handle a person who is knocked unconscious to not move them. More activity options & encourage staff to mingle more with residents instead of amongst themselves. The staff is wonderful & friendly, but probably need more to ensure better coverage for the residents.

  • Jul 3, 2023

    Staffing better food still average

  • Jul 2, 2023

    The staff in Mary B's overnight did not make rounds every two hours so it left my mother kneeling halfway on her bed. She was that way for four or five hours... not to detract from the staff that are always so caring and good with mom, but this one evening I was particularly very upset for her.

  • Jul 3, 2023

    My mother loves the people who work there. It is a friendly, beautiful atmosphere. And she generally eats the food. She's a picky eater, but they aim to please. The aids and medical team are wonderful and they take good care of her.

  • May 1, 2023

    (Name Removed) is not being walked regularly by staff therefore accidents in room....That family constantly have to deal with. Cleaning is not being done once a week as scheduled...nor are sheets being changed as scheduled.

  • May 1, 2023

    I am very happy with the wonderful people that work at Bickford. They are so compassionate and caring. My mother is so happy there.

  • Mar 1, 2023

    Mom likes the food, but it would be great if the food could be cut on a regular basis, we like that she is getting out of her room a lot, not getting bathed and hair washed on a regular basis, don't think clothes are being washed weekly, found some dead bugs in her apartment.

  • Mar 1, 2023

    Housekeeping is improving, and they are changing my mom's sheets.

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Virginia Beach

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)