Stop by for a tour at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Relax in your favorite chair on the porch at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Socialize with friends in the living room at Bickford of Virginia Beach
We’re serving up snacks, beverages and service around the clock in the bistro at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Celebrate special occasions in the private dining room at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Enjoy restaurant-style meals served three times a day in our dining room at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Unleash your creative side in the activity room at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Love your own stylist? She’s welcome to take care of you in the salon at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Our physical therapists can help with mobility in our rehabilitation room at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Socialize with a good friend in the sitting area at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Our whirlpool bathtub creates a spa-like environment tailored to enhance your relaxation and enjoyment at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Enjoy senior friendly amenities, personal climate control and security in an apartment at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Enjoy senior friendly amenities, personal climate control and security in an apartment at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Enjoy senior friendly amenities, personal climate control and security in an apartment at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Feel like you’re on your own back porch in our courtyard at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Mary B’s living room provides a smaller, more intimate setting to encourage interaction at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Residents with dementia receive additional assistance with meals in our Mary B’s dining room at Bickford of Virginia Beach
Residents with dementia can enjoy the outdoors by stepping into our secure courtyard at Bickford of Virginia Beach

Bickford of Virginia Beach

 

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of Virginia Beach

4.3

overall score based on 148 reviews

  • 94
  • 26
  • 17
  • 4
  • 7

Reviews with Comments

  • Jul 1, 2024

    I am so happy with Bickford . And more importantly my brother, (name removed) loves it . The staff cannot do enough for you. A Special thank you to (name removed). Anything we ask of her, she is right on. She always goes above and beyond A big thank you to her

  • Jul 1, 2024

    I am confident in the care and living conditions my mother is receiving at Bickford VB. The staff is kind and caring.

  • Jul 1, 2024

    The staff at BOVB were wonderful to my mother up to the day she died.

  • Jun 8, 2024

    Mom is cared for with patience and kindness. ❤️

  • Jun 1, 2024

    Bed sheets, etc should be changed weekly Dad should be given a shower in the stall once a week. he's only being given a "wipe down", which is fine for general day to day.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    This is a very very nice place in every way, clean, great food and the staff is truly amazing! To say they are like family is an under statement. Caring, loving, kind and yet very professional!! My mom is shown love each and every day, its so important. Thank you

  • Jun 1, 2024

    All of the staff are wonderful, kind and caring. They continue to keep my mother comfortable and loved. There is no other home that compares to Bickford in the quality of food and care for the residents there.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    The ENTIRE staff is so warm , loving, attentive, knowledgeable... I could go on and on. The staff not only cares for our loved ones but they also look out for the families.

  • May 13, 2024

    Always dependable and helpful. I have complete trust in the care my mother is receiving at Bickford VB. This is such a blessing as I can't be there as often as I would like to be.

  • May 1, 2024

    Housekeeping is not keeping my dad's bathroom clean

  • Apr 1, 2024

    The entire staff at BOVB continues to be kind, courteous, compassionate, and accommodating to all the residents and their families. Always willing to help and work out any problem or issue.

  • Apr 1, 2024

    Staff is kind and patient with Mom. Admin really care about her wellbeing and needs. I highly recommend Bickford VB.

  • Apr 1, 2024

    My 96-year-old father, and I are very satisfied

  • Mar 4, 2024

    Bickford staff is always on top of my mother's needs. They are patient and kind.

  • Mar 1, 2024

    My uncle has felt at home and has felt that everyone cares about him and his well-being.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    I am very pleased with the care my mother is getting at Bickford Virginia Beach. She has a better quality of life and is enjoying some socialization in a safe environment. The staff is top notch. Thank you, Bickford VB.

  • Feb 2, 2024

    Many times activities seem to be cancelled or not held as scheduled.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Mom is still not getting her hair washed, on a regular basis, during showers. I would rate you as a 5 if that occurred more often.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Mom has been there 4 years and still loves it there......we all love the staff and residence.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Staff is kind and considerate and does their best in caretaking for Mom. We are so blessed to be a part of Bickford VB.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Very understaffed and everyone is sick

  • Jan 2, 2024

    The staff has been so amazing and supportive through this difficult time with my mother. They all cared deeply for my mother which I am so grateful for.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    My mother has been there almost 4 years and still loves it. The staff continues to be awesome, kind and attentive.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    I am so grateful for the staff at Bickford. I would rate a 10 if it was an option. They are always kind and do their best for my loved one. I highly recommend Bickford Virginia Beach to others looking for a safe and comfortable place for their loved ones. ❤️

  • Nov 1, 2023

    The people that have employed, who work with the patients are Wonderful!! The person I spoke with before my mom moved in, (name removed), I do not feel I was given all the correct information. I was told that the fee would be $5100.00 per month. Nothing about an additional for assessment. It is now $2000.00+ more than I was told. I am not happy with this and feel I was not given all the information. As for my signing the paperwork, I was very stressed and just wanted to get through it and that was done quickly and not properly explained that there would be more charges other than television which was $50.00 per month. Very sad and not a way to begin a good relationship!!

  • Oct 4, 2023

    The food quality continues to be a challenge and there isn't a lot of confidence in staff respondency or competency but there are some staff members that are phenomenal.

  • Oct 2, 2023

    My mother loves the staff there. They take good care of her.

  • Sep 11, 2023

    1. August Health DOB for my mother is incorrect. DOB is (removed) Please fix this. 2. Her bathroom has been out of TP the last two visits. 3. I haven't seen a care plan for (name removed) since July of 2022. 4. She has a tremendous backlog of incontinence briefs-I don't think she's changing them. Is supposed to be on her care plan 5. For a dementia focused AL, the shower taps are confusing-Mom can't figure them out. 6. I emailed that her room key needed the room number tag replaced, as the current one was worn, and it makes her anxious to not have her room number on her key. Was told it would be done, not done-I gave her the tag from my entry fob.

  • Sep 13, 2023

    My mother continues to love the staff.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    I am very impressed with the entire Bickford staff and the beautiful facility. Each staff member is caring, professional, compassionate. They have made the transition for my loved one smooth and my heart is at ease knowing they are living at the Bickford.

  • Sep 3, 2023

    Staff who cannot wear a smile for every resident and actually do "whatever it takes" should seek another line of work.

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Virginia Beach

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)