Bickford of Urbandale

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Urbandale

3.9

overall score based on 112 reviews

  • 36
  • 50
  • 17
  • 2
  • 7

Reviews with Comments

  • Feb 2, 2024

    Everything has been a smooth transition and (name removed) has made it extremely easy and very attentive

  • Feb 7, 2024

    It doesn't do any good to complain because nothing is going to change except for the cost of living there you corporate people don't care any way so why keep sending these surveys you're not fixing the problem

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Poor food. Burned and tasteless. Personal observation

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Extremely disappointed that my father was taken to the hospital and no one was notified. No followup when I asked the Exec. Director. He's also been removed from physical therapy, which was a big reason for moving him. If we are not able to private pay, then we need a different PT option. We need better communication when his Care Plan gets changed!

  • Jan 2, 2024

    1 | C..the place is going downhill fast in all areas | Who am I talking with?

  • Dec 1, 2023

    (name removed) is so helpful and understanding. She is so good at what she does!!! She is very caring for the residents!!! (name removed) is also great! The staff is wonderful. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. Every time I have been there the facility is clean, bright and cheerful.

  • Dec 4, 2023

    I have a fob to open the front door. It hardly ever works so the staff has to stop what they are doing to come help. Nice workers.! But it takes them away from their work.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    (name removed) is so helpful and understanding. She is so good at what she does!!! She is very caring for the residents!!! (name removed) is also great! The staff is wonderful. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. Every time I have been there the facility is clean, bright and cheerful.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    Attentive staff. Clean and pleasant. Overall very good care and helpful

  • Jun 2, 2023

    Everything is ok. I assume (Name Removed) is doing ok after moving to Mary B's. I am sure he just stays in bed and doesn't participate in any enrichment. He used to be so social. Do what you can. Thank you.

  • May 1, 2023

    Thank you for your kindness and support in moving my Dad to Mary Bs. It's hard to accept he belongs there sometimes but just a very tough disease he has. Appreciate the reassurance. Love all the FB pictures and your new motto "whatever it takes". It's so nice to see the connections being made.

  • Apr 4, 2023

    Very happy with care received but disappointed that nobody has responded to my message about payment

  • Mar 1, 2023

    Same as my comments last month. Understood we'd be given a monthly report but haven't received any. Have to assume there's no issues we should know about.

  • Mar 1, 2023

    During a time of need and stress for me, Bickford remains our calm in a storm for mom.

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Urbandale

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)