Welcome to Bickford of Urbandale
Enjoy conversations with friends on the porch at Bickford of Urbandale
Enjoy a good book in the living room at Bickford of Urbandale
Food is best when shared with family and friends in the private dining room at Bickford of Urbandale
Food is best when shared with friends in the dining room at Bickford of Urbandale
Intimate enough to entertain your closest family; you can even host your next get together in the bistro at Bickford of Urbandale
Relax with a good puzzle in the activity room at Bickford of Urbandale
Enjoy a good snooze in the sitting area at Bickford of Urbandale
Curl up with a good book in the sunroom at Bickford of Urbandale
Strut on in and find out what the buzz is all about in the salon at Bickford of Urbandale
Hydrotherapy eases achy joints in our whirlpool at Bickford of Urbandale
Enjoy bird watching, gardening and barbecuing in our courtyard at Bickford of Urbandale
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Urbandale
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Urbandale
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Urbandale
Chairs and sofas sit higher and are easier to get in and out of in the Mary B’s living room at Bickford of Urbandale
Mary B’s country kitchen helps establish routines, creates activities and triggers a sense of meal time at Bickford of Urbandale
Residents with dementia can enjoy a traveling path, relaxed seating and raised garden beds in the courtyard at Bickford of Urbandale

Bickford of Urbandale

 

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of Urbandale

3.8

overall score based on 140 reviews

  • 44
  • 54
  • 23
  • 7
  • 12

Reviews with Comments

  • Jun 2, 2024

    Staff has been wonderful and has made (name removed) feel at home. Haven't seen her this calm in years

  • Jun 1, 2024

    While meals have been a little better lately, the response time is too long when calling for assistance

  • May 6, 2024

    Lack of knowledge on patient care.

  • May 1, 2024

    Bickford has been a wonderful facility for my mom. The care has been great! It's such a comfort knowing she has help when needed, but the staff is awesome caring. And the food has been so good for her too!

  • Apr 1, 2024

    Very comfortable homey feel & very caring staff!

  • Mar 2, 2024

    I am so appreciative of the new (name removed) in Urbandale. She really does care about the residents and their families.

  • Feb 2, 2024

    Everything has been a smooth transition and (name removed) has made it extremely easy and very attentive

  • Feb 7, 2024

    It doesn't do any good to complain because nothing is going to change except for the cost of living there you corporate people don't care any way so why keep sending these surveys you're not fixing the problem

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Poor food. Burned and tasteless. Personal observation

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Extremely disappointed that my father was taken to the hospital and no one was notified. No followup when I asked the Exec. Director. He's also been removed from physical therapy, which was a big reason for moving him. If we are not able to private pay, then we need a different PT option. We need better communication when his Care Plan gets changed!

  • Jan 2, 2024

    1 | C..the place is going downhill fast in all areas | Who am I talking with?

  • Dec 1, 2023

    (name removed) is so helpful and understanding. She is so good at what she does!!! She is very caring for the residents!!! (name removed) is also great! The staff is wonderful. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. Every time I have been there the facility is clean, bright and cheerful.

  • Dec 4, 2023

    I have a fob to open the front door. It hardly ever works so the staff has to stop what they are doing to come help. Nice workers.! But it takes them away from their work.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    (name removed) is so helpful and understanding. She is so good at what she does!!! She is very caring for the residents!!! (name removed) is also great! The staff is wonderful. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. Every time I have been there the facility is clean, bright and cheerful.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    Attentive staff. Clean and pleasant. Overall very good care and helpful

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Urbandale

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)