Bickford of Omaha – Blondo

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Omaha – Blondo

3.4

overall score based on 161 reviews

  • 54
  • 33
  • 29
  • 17
  • 28

Reviews with Comments

  • Feb 2, 2024

    I appreciate getting calls concerning the immediate needs that Mom has and also the updates concerning her health and well being.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I am very pleased with the care that is being provided for my Mom. It appears to me that all the staff know her by name and are genuinely concerned for her well being and attentive to her needs. I was with my Mom during one interaction with her and a staff person who was trying to get mom to take her shower. "Mom, wasn't having it" and did get feisty! The staff person remained calm & focused throughout that interaction. Thank you all for being like that.

  • Dec 3, 2023

    I appreciate the care that is being provided to my Mom. The direct care staff are always friendly and treat mom with dignity and respect. I understand staff is busy, but it would be nice if phone calls could be answered more often. Thank you

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Met a new very sharp Med Coordinator. She was on top of my sisters Meds and answered my questions.

  • Nov 2, 2023

    Appreciate everything that is being done for my mom. You have many staff who genuinely care about providing good care. Thank you for all you do and for going the extra mile.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Noticeable changes and numbers of staff

  • Oct 1, 2023

    The concern all the staff show and have for my mom and all the patients. The little things they do, in my case help with my mom's hair. They seem to know all patients and frequent family members by name. Make a phone call, just "the little things".

  • Sep 2, 2023

    4. Still wondering what the status of a full time nurse is at Bickford on Blondo - Omaha.

  • Sep 4, 2023

    I am very happy with Bickford. They take good care of mom. I wish they were able to answer their phone every time someone calls. I understand that could be a staffing issue. It is hard to get and keep good help. This is a little thing when looking at the big picture. I continue to be happy with Mom's care.

  • Sep 2, 2023

    Great community vibe. Having issues with Mom's health and the entire staff have been so supportive. I feel very confident about leaving her there.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    My mother seems happy there and the staff really cares about her. The staffing has been more consistent lately so they know the residents better. |

  • Aug 1, 2023

    I sent email on website and haven't heard anything back

  • Aug 1, 2023

    When I visited my mother yesterday, her wheelchair was not in her room. I had to search for it and found it in the commons area. Why was it not in her room? Did someone else use it? In addition, I have found items such as eye glasses NOT belonging to my mother in her room. Are other residents in her room?. These are my concerns.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    We appreciate all the staffs willingness to work with us on planning a birthday party for mom, room cleaning continues to improve, staffs willingness to help mom in every way they can and their willingness to keep us abreast of her needs. Thank you to all.

  • Jul 28, 2023

    My sisters blood pressure reading were taken are were very high. The Med Tech used a Wrist Band Blood Pressure instrument. I asked the Med Tech to please use a BP Cuff and Stethoscope . She did that and it showed my sisters BO was normal. I would advise Bickford to stop using the Wrist BP technique . Only use a Cuff and Stethoscope.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Though I am generally satisfied with care my mother receives at Bickford I do have two important concerns I want addressed. 1)It is my u derstanding the nursing staff routinely injects my mother's insulin in her abdomen, this is NOT the optimal injection site. My mother has injected herself in her stomach for years and scare tissue has developed as a result. I want her injections moved to her ARMA OR THIGHS. I believe the I b sulin will be more effectively absorbed in fresh Injection sites. 2) When my mother's blood sugar is running extremely high , I question why she is given a full meal followed by a snack. Meals are important but with extreme BS, would it not be better to wait temporarily? Thank you (Name Removed)

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Inconsistency

  • Jun 2, 2023

    Enjoyed the Mother's Day/Memorial Day Picnic. Staff very attentive to families. Thank | Food was excellent.

  • Jun 5, 2023

    Bathrooms both public and private were clean. Mom was ready on time. People knew where her hearing aid batteries were supposed to be.

  • May 1, 2023

    I do have a billing issue that your administrator has failed to address

  • May 1, 2023

    My mother is very happy staying at Bickford. The staffing has stabilized lately and the communication with the administrator is very open

  • May 1, 2023

    Things are going fairly well however I have brought up concerns about medications and asked for some feedback but haven't heard back. Her medications with insurance are expensive and they seem to be overusing them and therefore we are paying a lot more because of frequent refills.

  • Mar 1, 2023

    I am very appreciative of your increased communication efforts. I enjoy having the opportunity to know what is going on and also creating fun opportunities for family members to be a part of our loved ones lives. I like the openness of Administrative staff being transparent and available. I look forward to seeing the changes that are being made that will affect all the residents in a positive way.

  • Mar 2, 2023

    I think things are getting better with new management. It has been a complete mess for a few years.

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Omaha – Blondo

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)