Stop by and visit us at Bickford of Carmel
Sip on your favorite drink on the porch at Bickford of Carmel
Socialize with friends in the living room at Bickford of Carmel
Have fun with themed and holiday meals in the private dining room at Bickford of Carmel
Food is best when shared with friends in the dining room at Bickford of Carmel
Mingle and converse with old and new friends alike in the bistro at Bickford of Carmel
Enjoy a good book in the sitting area at Bickford of Carmel
Unleash your creative side in the activity room at Bickford of Carmel
Love your own stylist? She’s welcome to take care of you in the salon at Bickford of Carmel
Hydrotherapy eases achy joints in our whirlpool at Bickford of Carmel
Feel like you’re on your own back porch in our courtyard at Bickford of Carmel
Residents can enjoy furniture covered in cozy fabrics in the Mary B’s living room at Bickford of Carmel
Curl up with a good book in the sunroom at Bickford of Carmel
Residents with dementia can enjoy a traveling path, relaxed seating and raised garden beds in the courtyard at Bickford of Carmel
We’re happy to coordinate your transportation needs to appointments aboard the Bickford bus HOWIE at Bickford of Carmel
Enjoy senior friendly amenities, personal climate control and security in an apartment at Bickford of Carmel

Bickford of Carmel

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Carmel

3.6

overall score based on 105 reviews

  • 41
  • 24
  • 17
  • 7
  • 16

Reviews with Comments

  • Feb 7, 2024

    -1 CNAs doing mealtime instead of residents from 7-8:30 11:45-nearly 1:00 4:45-nearly 6 Very difficult to get help during those hours.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Food poor, getting PT and OT for dad next to impossible. I have done these surveys in the past and no one follows up and nothing changes. We are moving my dad

  • Feb 1, 2024

    The care-giving staff is excellent- but I am not sure if housekeeping is doing their best. My brother's bathroom is not as clean as I would like it. (name removed) told me that he was monitoring housekeeping during the day to make sure my brother's sheets and towels were getting washed-but my sister said towel was dirty, so I'm not sure.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    It's been good overall; however, I feel like Mary B's could be cleaner. I feel there is a difference in cleanliness when you walk from the assisted living area to Mary B's. I'm not sure how often housekeeping visits Mary B's or who is in charge of keeping things clean (ie - carpets vacuumed, floors mopped, etc.), but there's a noticeable difference between the two.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I miss having regular access to (name removed) in memory care. She has been the primary source of my satisfaction in that area.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    5

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Bickford is an excellent environment for my mom. She is very happy with all the staff. I am blessed to have my mom in such a friendly, loving environment.

  • Dec 9, 2023

    better than it has been but still can have considerably better. Love it that they r doing better.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    In my opinion, the place is light on staff on weekends.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Warm, friendly staff. We especially like the administrators and the new director of nurses. All of the nurses have given excellent care. Several of the aides have made valuable suggestions that have improved my husband's comfort. The happiness coordinators plan great activities. The housekeeper keeps the facility clean and conducive to health. Delicious meals--wide variety, attractively presented, hot foods arrive hot, chefs are friendly. Attractive common area. Our visiting friends typically express amazement over how beautiful the home is. However, the home needs a better front door. I have a great deal of trouble getting my wheelchair-bound husband in and out of the heavy outer doors and also struggle with the inner doors. The pavement bricks in the parking area add to the charm, but many are crumbled or broken. This detracts from Bickford's street appeal and I believe could contribute to falls and even lawsuits. We were dismayed that we were presented with a 4.9 percent increase in the monthly price a mere three months after moving in. That seemed unfair. But we like Bickford, and I extend my thanks to all here who have helped my husband.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Bickford is an excellent environment for my mom. She is very happy with all the staff. I am blessed to have my mom in such a friendly, loving environment.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    My only point of dissatisfaction is that no one seems to be around on weekends. Our families live there on weekends just like weekdays and we pay for weekends just like weekdays.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    I would be nice to have a code pad that worked so I can get in to see my brother.

  • Aug 6, 2023

    3 Concern in MBs about a few of the residents going into rooms that aren't their own and many times take things with them. MB residents have had a lot taken away from them when they enter a facility and all they have left is their private room and belongings, which should be secure. Would it be possible to program the wrist bands to alarm when they enter rooms other than their own since staff are not able to keep eyes on them constantly? Thanks to the staff that truly care for residents and treat them the way our loved ones deserve. Some don't exhibit the same compassion and work ethic and that adds stress to the ones that do. Am hopeful with some of the recent changes that there will be accountability and this will bring Bickford back to the way it was intended to be.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Memory care facility seems more run down lately. My dad (Name Removed) has had toilet leaking from base again making floor slippery.

  • Jul 3, 2023

    nothing that we were told that would be done when we came to Bickford Carmel is not at all being done for my mother. Will be looking at other facilities. Have told them over and over but nothing being done. No one is held accountable for anything being done at all. | I would like for a district manager to contact me.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Staffing continues to be an issue as well as the food not very good.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    (Name Removed) daughter, (Name Removed), and I have had too many experiences where we attempted to make contact with no responsible person there or available.

  • May 1, 2023

    Your caregivers in Mary B's are the reason I love the place!! Especially (Name Removed) and (Name Removed) (and others) consistently go way above and beyond to personally know how to not only meet my dad's specific needs, but make him feel respected, valued and loved!

  • May 1, 2023

    Staff turnover, food shortages. Not fixing what's on the menu. (Why even have one?) staff that is good seem to quit or get fired. Overall moral is very low and it appears no one really cares.

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Stop by and visit us at Bickford of Carmel

Bickford of Carmel

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)