Stop by for a tour at Bickford of Portage
Enjoy conversations with friends on the porch at Bickford of Portage
Snooze in your favorite chair in the living room at Bickford of Portage
Have fun with themed and holiday meals in the private dining room at Bickford of Portage
Food is best when shared with friends in the dining room at Bickford of Portage
Enjoy a good card game with friends in the activity room at Bickford of Portage
Curl up with a good book in the sunroom at Bickford of Portage
With an easy access design, our whirlpool allows you to enjoy a warm bath safely and comfortably at Bickford of Portage
Strut on in and find out what the buzz is all about in the salon at Bickford of Portage
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Portage
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Portage
Enjoy the outdoors in a whole new light by stepping into our secure courtyard at Bickford of Portage
Chairs and sofas sit higher and are easier to get in and out of in the Mary B’s living room at Bickford of Portage
Residents with dementia receive additional assistance with meals in our Mary B’s dining room at Bickford of Portage
A single entrance courtyard gives residents with dementia the opportunity to be safe outside at Bickford of Portage
Participate in community outings aboard the Bickford bus HOWIE at Bickford of Portage

Bickford of Portage

 

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of Portage

3.8

overall score based on 201 reviews

  • 70
  • 62
  • 35
  • 17
  • 17

Reviews with Comments

  • Jul 1, 2024

    (name removed), the activities Director in Mary B's is phenomenal. She is so kind and loving to each of the residents. I can tell she truly cares about them.

  • Jul 1, 2024

    Poor management. Complaints about my sister being left without pants on. Director stated that was patients right!!!!! She never asked for that, was embarrassed when family found. I'm certain staff made her uncomfortable to ask for being fully clothed. Many other issues. Very displeased.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    Bickford has been a Godsend to our family! I have been so impressed with the care, communication and concern the staff has shown to my older brother since his arrival less than a year ago. I am more than pleased.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    The Director for Bickford of Portage is doing a great job of making good decisions and creating a good staff. Communication is much better. She listens and takes action. The Happiness Coordinator (name removed) is a blessing, she is always available and works well with the residents.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    The staff does a wonderful job making sure my mom gets her puréed food.

  • Jun 2, 2024

    Mom feels like the staff have favorites. The staff seem not to be as responsive at times or there doesn't seem to be enough staff.

  • May 4, 2024

    We appreciate how (name removed), Executive Director at Portage, communicates with the families and the care and concern her team has for the residents.

  • May 12, 2024

    I am so thankful mom is staying at Bickford Portage. My wife and I can travel worry free knowing mom is well cared for by Bickford's staff and safe. I was particularly grateful for her safety during the recent tornado's in Portage

  • May 3, 2024

    I'm so pleased with the direction Bickford of Portage is heading under the leadership of executive director (name removed). She has made big difference in a short time for this branch. The communication hasn't been this good since my mom's first year there three years ago. With family advocate (name removed) and happiness coordinator (name removed) has a great support team to take this branch to a higher level. Keep up the good work.

  • May 1, 2024

    Lack of help

  • May 1, 2024

    Bickford has substantially met my expectations in regard to the care of my older brother. They are continually trying to raise the bar for excellence in what they do. I am extremely confident that at this time my brother is in the right place to meet his needs. I would highly recommend Bicford to others looking for a safe and caring place in the realm of assisted living home care. | Oops! Sorry, left the K out of Bickford!

  • May 1, 2024

    I really appreciate the improved communication! It started with (name removed) weekly updates and continued with (name removed) weekly updates. It's nice to know what's going on and learn of upcoming events. Thank you, (name removed)

  • Apr 1, 2024

    (name removed) and the other girls in Mary B were so good with my mom in her last days - we are so thankful for the wonderful care she received at Bickford!

  • Apr 1, 2024

    Staff are very kind and patient with my mom. I feel she is well looked after.

  • Apr 1, 2024

    The staff has been doing a great job of taking care of my mom and seeing that her needs are met. We talk often and that helps me monitor her needs and well-being too.

  • Mar 1, 2024

    The staff at Bickford is so amazing with my mom

  • Mar 1, 2024

    Mom would like more activities

  • Feb 2, 2024

    I feel like things are getting better. It has been 3 months since my sister moved in and she is a little more comfortable. I still feel like I am left out of loop in terms of getting information. My sister recently had a visit from her PCP selected by Bickford. Which was great because I didn't know when that would happen or if I needed to do something to make that happen. I am my sister's health POA and have no idea what came of that visit. I can't take care of my sister and appreciate that Bickford is doing that, but I need information since I manage her finances as well as her health care! Straightening out her bills and other things she has done without my knowledge is difficult and I often spend hours on the phone and filling out paperwork. It's still not under control.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    The staff is always so friendly and helpful whenever we come to visit. The food is delicious too!

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Staff are terrific with folks, though sometimes seem stretched a little thin

  • Jan 3, 2024

    Your staff are so friendly and welcoming. My mother just moved there and is happy and content.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I believe it's getting better but I'm still disappointed in the lack of communication. I don't think we've had a weekly update since the end of November or first week of December.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I'm hoping that care will be better with the new nurse. We've seen 5 different nurses in our time there - 2 1/2 years.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    When one of our siblings visited yesterday (new years day) and visited in last week a couple times- our mom has had no hearing aides in- or they aren't charged, no pee pads on her wheelchair or lift- (they smell!), no water in her cup, no remote close by and a dead cell phone. Yesterday our mom was asleep from 2-5 when she had visitor in to see her- very groggy at 5pm and ate dinner in her room.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Thanks to staff ... great job !

  • Dec 1, 2023

    I appreciate the staff dedication in caring for my mom. They are kind and thoughtful and manage to get her to do the normal things she needs to do each day

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Still a lot of work to be done to keep the patients and rooms from smelling like urine. Also getting new staff members up to speed on needs for each patient

  • Nov 5, 2023

    This place is a mess!!!! One person on overnights in Memory Care, with all the needs??? 2 people on staff the last 4 shifts!!! This place is entirely unsafe!!

  • Nov 4, 2023

    Same old thing not enough help to cover residents needs

  • Nov 2, 2023

    There continues to be issues with reaching a staff member over the phone especially after hours and weekends. Very frustrating when questions arise and a nurse needs to be contacted.

  • Nov 3, 2023

    Mom says she wants more activities.

  • Oct 2, 2023

    Staffing issues are affecting the level of care. The staff that are in there are very good. But the experienced staff are spread pretty thin right now

  • Oct 2, 2023

    Staff is always helpful and kind. I feel confident that mom is receiving the care and attention she deserves.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Response time is still slow

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Will share comments in an email that will be sent in the next day.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    They lost some of his things, no one will take responsibility for losing them.

  • Sep 5, 2023

    The ladies that run the memory care unit are amazing. It makes such a difference. They make it feel homey there. Can't say enough good things

  • Sep 6, 2023

    I still believe in Bickford and the attitudes of the staff there. The problem I see in the last two months is that the teams are overwhelmed. Short staffed helpers are doing triple duty (in my opinion) and they are not able to handle the heavy load to make up for those staff that up and leave. I have no insight as to why some of the good staff leaves so I can't comment much on that. But I do know the ones that are left behind are those "winners" that Bickford can't afford to lose. Please do not take my comments as an indictment on the current floor staff or Directors there. All I know is that I have had to start mopping my dad's bathroom floors and shampooing his rug regularly. Picking up extra trash and buying trash can liners. If corporate needs input from me, I am more than happy to have a constructive and positive dialogue about possible solutions. Until there is a better way to incent people to stay or keep morale up, I fear my dad, and other residents, are the ones who lose out. I know Bickford wouldn't want to let the great reputation it has earned begin to erode. I'm sure there are many ways to handle things until the place gets staffed up. Example, temporarily put a moratorium on admitting more patients than a normal staff or nursing team can handle. Maybe sacrifice a few margin dollars by keeping some rooms empty until more staff is brought in with incentives to join AND stay. Although it may be counter to a business model to turn away a few dollars, it is more of a business risk to have suffering patients and stressed out family members who carry the

  • Sep 2, 2023

    My mother has Hospice staff assisting her as well as Bickford. Twice in the past 2 weeks the Hospice staff noted bruises on my mother. Bickford staff denies any knowledge of how she got them. My mother cannot walk or get up, see needs assistance. Is it new staff, untrained staff, agency staff? Get it figured out! I don't want anymore phone calls telling me my mother has bruises because your staff are unaware of her limitations.

  • Sep 8, 2023

    No comment

  • Sep 2, 2023

    2 - Mary Bs absolutely needs at least three caregivers minimum on first and second shift. It is tiresome to continue to get lip service from leader ship, including corporate. 2 staff, a special needs resident that should have 1:1 care. It's not meeting my expectations for Care at all.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    It disappoints me that the answer to every problem you have seems to be to fire someone. If you saw a quality in them, good enough to hire them in the first place, or you have given them some type of promotion or commendation you really should consider re-training people rather than firing them. If someone isn't doing some thing correctly, you have a responsibility to train them and not cast them out.

  • Aug 6, 2023

    No comment

  • Jul 20, 2023

    No comment | I don't know why,i would be embarrassed to get this kind rating if i owned a business.

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Portage

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)