Stop by for a tour at Bickford of St. Charles
Sip on your favorite drink on the porch at Bickford of St. Charles
Celebrate special occasions in the private dining room at Bickford of St. Charles
Enjoy homestyle food with made-from-scratch recipes in our dining room at Bickford of St. Charles
Mingle and converse with old and new friends alike in the bistro at Bickford of St. Charles
Enjoy a good book in the sitting area at Bickford of St. Charles
Enjoy the view of the outdoors from the sunroom at Bickford of St. Charles
Our whirlpool bathtub creates a spa-like environment tailored to enhance your relaxation and enjoyment at Bickford of St. Charles
Receive personalized, at-home treatment from our stylist in the salon at Bickford of St. Charles
Relax with a good puzzle in the activity room at Bickford of St. Charles
Residents with dementia receive additional assistance with meals in our Mary B’s dining room at Bickford of St. Charles
Enjoy bird watching, gardening and barbecuing in our courtyard at Bickford of St. Charles
Enjoy senior friendly amenities, personal climate control and security in an apartment at Bickford of St. Charles
Enjoy senior friendly amenities, personal climate control and security in an apartment at Bickford of St. Charles

Bickford of St. Charles

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of St. Charles

3.5

overall score based on 99 reviews

  • 48
  • 8
  • 14
  • 8
  • 21

Reviews with Comments

  • Apr 1, 2024

    Loved “Thank you. Please share your comments. For comment…”

  • Apr 1, 2024

    Not enough help on dining room. Kitchen and in weekend. Need help finding people. Ones there are good but not enough of them. Food still not great but trying

  • Apr 10, 2024

    Do you have a CLUE that you are asking a dead man for comments? What do I have to say to convince you?

  • Apr 1, 2024

    1 | 1

  • Apr 1, 2024

    I have already shared. Nothing changes so why keep sharing. Some day we will stop giving you our money and maybe then you will make the necessary changes

  • Apr 1, 2024

    They always stay in touch.

  • Apr 1, 2024

    Mom has fallen a few times and this last fall she has to go to the ER. Upon returning, she's had to transition to a wheelchair, make changes to her room and her daily routine. The staff is really patient and helping her with all these changes

  • Mar 5, 2024

    Nothing confidential.... suggest mandatory class for all employees in how to distinguish death from life. (name removed) died November 6. Please stop asking him for his comments on anything.

  • Mar 1, 2024

    No comment

  • Mar 1, 2024

    Overall place is not as clean as when my husband first arrived. Soda cans, cups and snack containers left in general areas. Still not happy with being charged with battery boxes. Not in original contract. Batteries not there when needed.

  • Mar 1, 2024

    Please have someone call me

  • Mar 1, 2024

    This has to be a terrible joke!!!

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Done

  • Feb 1, 2024

    I have shared my comments and nobody reached out. What good is collecting comments only to do nothing with them?

  • Feb 1, 2024

    No comment

  • Feb 1, 2024

    I am grateful for everyone that has so much patience in handling some of the behavior caused by dementia.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    The staff at Bickford are phenominal. Such a save and happy environment. Thank you.

  • Jan 8, 2024

    The cnas are thoughtful

  • Jan 2, 2024

    The staff is wonderful.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Food quality is very poor and continues to decrease. That is very upsetting since elderly need good food for longevity. Activities continue to decrease as well. Elderly need good activities for longevity and vibrancy. Also the staff response is very poor. My mother in law was locked in a bathroom for 30 minutes and that's how long the response took. The watch does not work. All of the sales promises have fallen way short. Seriously you need an overhaul because if you raise the rates again you better raise your quality with it. Signed (name removed)

  • Jan 2, 2024

    food is poor quality, staff response is poor, and yet rates continue to increase

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Excellent workers are enriching their lives: (names removed) and the other nurses & CNAs. I don't remember everyone's names.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Bickford has the most amazing staff. So caring! I feel very confident that my dad is being well cared for.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    No leadership

  • Dec 1, 2023

    My medication was lost for 8 days. I was told that the pharmacy did not have it marked properley. I was given the run around until I took control to get something done. This is not acceptable behaviour from the senior staff, even though it was likely caused by overworked staff for the needs of our resident's.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    The Bickford is a place where my dad was very well cared for. Everyone there is so nice, and showed a genuine interest in my dad's well being. I had the utmost confidence that he was in a safe, caring environment.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    The only issue I have had is with the billing department at corporate. Due to the initial move in of my Dad and Mom and the death of my Dad in September, I have had a need to discuss the details of the bills I received. I placed several calls to corporate and both times I was required to leave a message. That's fine. However, neither of my calls were returned. I find that very unprofessional.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Everyone is friendly and helpful.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Not getting the care she needs. She needs a little help at meal time.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    (name removed) is wonderful to work with. She's well organized and knows how to run the place.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Over a week ago I left a voicemail approving a flu shot for (name removed) and requested a call for a care conference. No one has called me back

  • Oct 2, 2023

    Outside helps (name removed) not to shake

  • Sep 1, 2023

    Good communication

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Nice people

  • Jul 5, 2023

    I haven't had a care conference for weeks. I would like someone to call me to let know how (Name Removed) is doing and to discuss her care

  • Jun 2, 2023

    None

  • Jun 3, 2023

    Nice to take (Name Removed) outside. Nice for more places outside.

  • Jun 2, 2023

    My resident complains of lack of transportation options.

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of St. Charles

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)