Bickford of Rocky River

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Real Residents
Real Reviews

Most senior living communities say similar things like: “We provide great care!” or “Our staff is the best!” or “Your mom will be happy here!”

But how do you know that’s really true?

Our current residents and families know whether or not we walk the talk. That’s why we give you direct access to their real thoughts and real options.

 
Why we publish real reviews — including the bad ones

Reviews for Bickford of Rocky River

3.9

overall score based on 176 reviews

  • 76
  • 46
  • 28
  • 10
  • 16

Reviews with Comments

  • Feb 4, 2024

    I was skeptical last fall about Bickford headquarters is ability to contain an even reduce costs after having to increase costs on a 14.3% annual basis over the course of 11 months to me that smacked of a poorly run business | After all, how could you get to the point where you realize it's such drastic cost increase measures are necessary over such a short period of time so late in the business cycle? | But my primary concern was knowing that cost containment measures would need to be implemented locally at each care home what the implications could be to my mothers experience at the Bickford in Rocky River | Would the care center manager be required to cut costs and what would that look like? Lower cost workers lower cost supplies and food. Lower care levels? I'm afraid it seems it means all three my mother's care experience at the Bickford in Rocky River has fallen off the table. She's now being hospitalized for the second time in a week because a prescription for antibiotics to treat a UTI was not renewed and administered by the Bickford in Rocky River. | I want you to know, and I am calling the Bickford in Rocky River tomorrow to speak to the general manager, that I am seeking legal counsel at this time and considering a malpractice course of action against the Bickford in Rocky River to me the explanation is simple, reduced costs, lead to reduced oversight and care management, resulting in fundamental misses in care delivery. In this case, the failure to renew, and administer an antibiotic prescribed by a discharging physician. The result is an impact of my mother's health, an impact of her cognitive state, and also a financial impact that phone call will be made tomorrow I expect to have legal counsel. | I will be in touch with both the Bickford Rocky River and the Bickford headquarters this week regarding a potential legal course of action to address the situation and damages done to my mother. Thank you so much for reaching out and soliciting feedback on the experience at the Bickford.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    First of all, I waited over a month and still waiting for a bill to be rectified. I've made countless phone calls and text with no response. Then my client is asked to be removed from living there in one days notice which I don't believe is legal most the people there are nice but I don't believe how to do their jobs, all my responses over the last year have been to no avail because you guys never respond back, so why you do this is beyond me

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Meant 5

  • Jan 5, 2024

    Everyone at Bickford is very personable and very helpful and very pleasant to talk to and deal with. If they don't know the answer to something they go out of their way to try to find the answer. Every time I go there and I have to interact with someone or talk to someone or anything, it is nice to see happy people, people with great personalities, and it shows when you see them even before you speak to them and that is a great atmosphere to be in. | My mother-in-law is there, and she has not complained once about anything. She is happy and I am very thankful that the staff is willing to help her in assist her with what she needs, it has made her life of living at this point a lot better than it was and she's actually a person and the staff interacts with her which is great.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    The food is not very good at all

  • Jan 2, 2024

    They need more staff at this facility.

  • Jan 3, 2024

    I just gave my comment. | Sorry- you are gone and onto better - you don't need my crap. No worries. | Fwd:1 - because Dad gets his meds and meals - I have had to beg for anything else or do it myself.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I think that the staff is mostly tentative to my mother's needs. They do a good job keeping me informed of any changes.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Done

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Recently my friend who I'm POA for has been admitted to memory care , which was a shock for all of us. The staff has been very understanding, helpful and sincere. I am very fortunate to have him residing there.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Staff has been attentive and responsive . Thanks so much

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Since my mom has been moved to the memory care unit, her level of care has greatly improved. Again, the aids in that unit are just fantastic.

  • Oct 8, 2023

    2 rate increases in 9 months totaling 14+% leaves me feeling both powerless as a consumer and questioning the organization's ability to project cost and predictability manage profitability - it feels like the emphasis at this point is on profitability - seeing as that is the case when should the next price increase be expected? Q1 2024? I also expect that rates will never be adjusted down if/when costs come under control owing to increased efficiencies and scale. I'm genuinely curious what the monthly bill will look like 12 months from now.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Supplies that I provide have been appropriated beyond my knowledge. And it's almost impossible to keep 1 pair of my mothers glasses. But the care has been consistently good to excellent

  • Oct 2, 2023

    The nursing staff has been much improved in order to have communication with me. Thank you.

  • Sep 4, 2023

    Thankfully your front desk people are so professional, otherwise most answers would not be met. I believe we also should have been made aware of (Name Removed) leaving!

  • Sep 1, 2023

    I have had better communication with staff

  • Aug 1, 2023

    My mom is very happy and very well cared for. Her regular aides (not temp or agency) took the time to get to know her and truly care about her. We miss them on their days off. (Name Removed) has been wonderful helping with mom transitioning into her new room. I'm really glad she is here.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Incorrect billing and having to go back and forth with several people has made this part of the process very frustrating. I'm not going to pay erroneous charges. I will pay when they are fixed.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    I am not very satisfied with my mothers care. The help she needs, the less she gets. The last time I saw her, she smelled of urine so badly. She needs help finding clean clothes and washing the ones she soils.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Everyone is helpful. Mom seems happy there.

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Still having problems with cleanliness or the facility and short staffed. Other then that the charge nurse ((Name Removed)) and (Name Removed) the administrator and some of the aides in memory care like (Name Removed) and (Name Removed) and (Name Removed) the receptionist is great and caring

  • Jul 2, 2023

    Significant issues with my mother's glasses either missing or not being put on. Also, once in a while she's wearing the same clothes as the day before

  • Jun 2, 2023

    (Name Removed) the administrator is very compassionate and caring. My parents love the happy hour on Friday and they do a great job with that. All the nurses are very fun and engaging at the happy hour. The aides in memory care (Name Removed) are great! (Name Removed) the charge nurse is very nice. I appreciate the well organized care (Name Removed) the receptionist gives to all of us! Wish the facility wasn't so short staffed. My parents memory care rooms need to be cleaned more often.

  • Jun 2, 2023

    I meant 5 | I am very satisfied - entered wrong #

  • Jun 2, 2023

    The staff that is there is just excellent. However, they need more aid. That may not be their fault at all but I feel they are understaffed.

  • May 1, 2023

    I believe (Name Removed) is your greatest asset you have! Also (Name Removed) running the front office, irreplaceable !!

  • May 1, 2023

    Love u guys

  • May 1, 2023

    My mother tells me she is content living at the Bickford. She has everything she needs and that means everything to me. She gets her physical therapy and medical care in the building. When. Ended the Mobile X-Ray unit shows up. They have activities scheduled for mom all day. From my point of view...nothing and no where are perfect but the Bickford works very hard to be perfect. 95% of the time they get it right and for the times when it isn't right, they fix it without pushback.

  • Apr 1, 2023

    multiple times my mother did not have her glasses on and a few times she didn't have a change of clothes from the day before

  • Mar 1, 2023

    You must do everything you can to keep (Name Removed), she is the reason the place runs so well. Also (Name Removed) at front desk is so very personable and professional. Although it took many months for (Name Removed) to complete what I asked, she did complete and I am very happy. Whoever authored the increase in fees letter from corporate office never returned my call, which is mute months later.

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Rocky River

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)