Stop by for a tour at Bickford of Rocky River
Snooze in your favorite chair in the living room at Bickford of Rocky River
Enjoy a good book in the living room at Bickford of Rocky River
Have fun with themed and holiday meals in the private dining room at Bickford of Rocky River
Food is best when shared with friends in the dining room at Bickford of Rocky River
We’re serving up snacks, beverages and service around the clock in the bistro at Bickford of Rocky River
Strut on in and find out what the buzz is all about in the salon at Bickford of Rocky River
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Rocky River
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Rocky River
Mary B’s country kitchen helps establish routines, creates activities and triggers a sense of meal time at Bickford of Rocky River
Residents with dementia can enjoy the outdoors by stepping into our secure courtyard at Bickford of Rocky River

Bickford of Rocky River

 

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of Rocky River

3.5

overall score based on 170 reviews

  • 58
  • 41
  • 32
  • 12
  • 27

Reviews with Comments

  • Jul 1, 2024

    I did not appreciate the tone I have received when asking about the nature of the call. "You don't trust me" is not acceptable when I am trying to find out why there is an emergency that needs to be addressed immediately or (name removed) will be taken by ambulance with no staff. She has dementia and alzheimer's. Only to later find out it was a false reading due to faulty equipment at the facility. Other than that things have seemingly been better except for lack of staff on weekends or holidays.

  • Jul 1, 2024

    I recently went to visit my grandmother, (name removed). It looks like the staff has done a wonderful job cleaning her room, and I sincerely appreciate the effort put into that! It hasn't always been very clean and it was the most clean I've ever seen it.!! Thank you so very much!

  • Jun 5, 2024

    I do not wish to remain anonymous or confidential. I have plenty to say, only it needs to be in person.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    Things have gotten seemingly better with the change of the ED. Room is clean, need to remind them to clean the bathroom. (name removed) seems happy along with the staff.

  • May 1, 2024

    Dirty. Blood in my dad's room and all over the base of his walker. No one cleaned it. | Then contact me about it then, please.

  • May 1, 2024

    Unfortunately I am beginning to have concerns whether my mother is being properly taken care of. I don't know when she is bathed , I don't know when she last washed her hair, I don't know when her room was cleaned, worst of all, based on the smell I don't know the last time her bathroom was cleaned. She can't just sit in filth because she is too sick know any different. It's probably been more than a year since I have a care review. Other than feed her and give her meds I don't. Know what else they do for her other than plop her in front of the TV all day.

  • Apr 1, 2024

    It took 3 months for the billing to reflect hospital stay which delayed insurance reimbursement. Turn over is extremely high with care givers and staff. Don't know the last time resident received bathing, room not cleaned regularly, laundry done, bedding has odor.

  • Mar 13, 2024

    The same issues with supplies and amenities disappearing. Also, laundry has been a major problem recently. For example, I originally provided 15 hand towels and 2 dozen wash clothes. They are now all gone. However, I do appreciate the effort from the aids and nurses

  • Mar 1, 2024

    I've shared them above - let me share again. | Resident is not being bathed, refrigerator is full of old food, room is not vacuumed, garbage on the floor, overflowing garbage cans in room, front desk and bistro areas, key staff resigning or have resigned, cable tv box removed from the room, theft/loss of personal belongings including cellular phone. | Does a human read this?

  • Feb 4, 2024

    I was skeptical last fall about Bickford headquarters is ability to contain an even reduce costs after having to increase costs on a 14.3% annual basis over the course of 11 months to me that smacked of a poorly run business | After all, how could you get to the point where you realize it's such drastic cost increase measures are necessary over such a short period of time so late in the business cycle? | But my primary concern was knowing that cost containment measures would need to be implemented locally at each care home what the implications could be to my mothers experience at the Bickford in Rocky River | Would the care center manager be required to cut costs and what would that look like? Lower cost workers lower cost supplies and food. Lower care levels? I'm afraid it seems it means all three my mother's care experience at the Bickford in Rocky River has fallen off the table. She's now being hospitalized for the second time in a week because a prescription for antibiotics to treat a UTI was not renewed and administered by the Bickford in Rocky River. | I want you to know, and I am calling the Bickford in Rocky River tomorrow to speak to the general manager, that I am seeking legal counsel at this time and considering a malpractice course of action against the Bickford in Rocky River to me the explanation is simple, reduced costs, lead to reduced oversight and care management, resulting in fundamental misses in care delivery. In this case, the failure to renew, and administer an antibiotic prescribed by a discharging physician. The result is an impact of my mother's health, an impact of her cognitive state, and also a financial impact that phone call will be made tomorrow I expect to have legal counsel. | I will be in touch with both the Bickford Rocky River and the Bickford headquarters this week regarding a potential legal course of action to address the situation and damages done to my mother. Thank you so much for reaching out and soliciting feedback on the experience at the Bickford.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    First of all, I waited over a month and still waiting for a bill to be rectified. I've made countless phone calls and text with no response. Then my client is asked to be removed from living there in one days notice which I don't believe is legal most the people there are nice but I don't believe how to do their jobs, all my responses over the last year have been to no avail because you guys never respond back, so why you do this is beyond me

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Meant 5

  • Jan 5, 2024

    Everyone at Bickford is very personable and very helpful and very pleasant to talk to and deal with. If they don't know the answer to something they go out of their way to try to find the answer. Every time I go there and I have to interact with someone or talk to someone or anything, it is nice to see happy people, people with great personalities, and it shows when you see them even before you speak to them and that is a great atmosphere to be in. | My mother-in-law is there, and she has not complained once about anything. She is happy and I am very thankful that the staff is willing to help her in assist her with what she needs, it has made her life of living at this point a lot better than it was and she's actually a person and the staff interacts with her which is great.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    The food is not very good at all

  • Jan 2, 2024

    They need more staff at this facility.

  • Jan 3, 2024

    I just gave my comment. | Sorry- you are gone and onto better - you don't need my crap. No worries. | Fwd:1 - because Dad gets his meds and meals - I have had to beg for anything else or do it myself.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    I think that the staff is mostly tentative to my mother's needs. They do a good job keeping me informed of any changes.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Done

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Recently my friend who I'm POA for has been admitted to memory care , which was a shock for all of us. The staff has been very understanding, helpful and sincere. I am very fortunate to have him residing there.

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Staff has been attentive and responsive . Thanks so much

  • Nov 1, 2023

    Since my mom has been moved to the memory care unit, her level of care has greatly improved. Again, the aids in that unit are just fantastic.

  • Oct 8, 2023

    2 rate increases in 9 months totaling 14+% leaves me feeling both powerless as a consumer and questioning the organization's ability to project cost and predictability manage profitability - it feels like the emphasis at this point is on profitability - seeing as that is the case when should the next price increase be expected? Q1 2024? I also expect that rates will never be adjusted down if/when costs come under control owing to increased efficiencies and scale. I'm genuinely curious what the monthly bill will look like 12 months from now.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Supplies that I provide have been appropriated beyond my knowledge. And it's almost impossible to keep 1 pair of my mothers glasses. But the care has been consistently good to excellent

  • Oct 2, 2023

    The nursing staff has been much improved in order to have communication with me. Thank you.

  • Sep 4, 2023

    Thankfully your front desk people are so professional, otherwise most answers would not be met. I believe we also should have been made aware of (Name Removed) leaving!

  • Sep 1, 2023

    I have had better communication with staff

  • Aug 1, 2023

    My mom is very happy and very well cared for. Her regular aides (not temp or agency) took the time to get to know her and truly care about her. We miss them on their days off. (Name Removed) has been wonderful helping with mom transitioning into her new room. I'm really glad she is here.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Incorrect billing and having to go back and forth with several people has made this part of the process very frustrating. I'm not going to pay erroneous charges. I will pay when they are fixed.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    I am not very satisfied with my mothers care. The help she needs, the less she gets. The last time I saw her, she smelled of urine so badly. She needs help finding clean clothes and washing the ones she soils.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    Everyone is helpful. Mom seems happy there.

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Rocky River

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)