Stop by for a tour at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Relax in your favorite chair on the porch at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Enjoy a good book in the living room at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Have fun with themed and holiday meals in the private dining room at Bickford of Crystal Lake
We’re serving up snacks, beverages and service around the clock in the bistro at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Enjoy restaurant-style meals served three times a day in our dining room at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Enjoy a good snooze in the sitting area at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Relax with a good puzzle in the activity room at Bickford of Crystal Lake
With an easy access design, our whirlpool allows you to enjoy a warm bath safely and comfortably at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Strut on in and find out what the buzz is all about in the salon at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Enjoy bird watching, gardening and barbecuing in our courtyard at Bickford of Crystal Lake
A single entrance courtyard gives residents with dementia the opportunity to be safe outside at Bickford of Crystal Lake
Mary B’s country kitchen helps establish routines, creates activities and triggers a sense of meal time at Bickford of Crystal Lake

Bickford of Crystal Lake

 

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of Crystal Lake

3.8

overall score based on 98 reviews

  • 40
  • 24
  • 17
  • 12
  • 5

Reviews with Comments

  • May 1, 2024

    Helping patients & family with convenience of health care. Working angle of in house eye exams!

  • May 1, 2024

    The leadership staff does the bare minimum and follow through the last several months has been lacking. Constant billing issues, no communication when medication was changed on why dexcom patches could not be ordered until i had to follow up. Then when moving my mother out of bickford no communication to the vendor on prescriptions to cancel so they were ordered and we were billed for them. Honestly, great facility. The nursing staff has been great but ever since (name removed) left the leadership staff there has had turnover and lack of follow through.

  • Apr 1, 2024

    There continues to be a lack of activity and programming as well as lack of attention given to holidays in memory care at Crystal Lake. Additionally, while visiting on Easter Sunday, there was a highly agitated female patient(same one as I have referenced before) yelling at the top of her lungs which went unmanaged for at least an hour of our visit and was continuing while we attempted to say goodbye to our loved one. Staff stood in the hall watching the resident continue to escalate. Nurse was also aware. I'm unsure what measures were taken, staffs response appeared to be to wait it out and watch her yell???? The resident should not be out disrupting the entire community. We witnessed another resident in tears and another asking us if we could please call the police because they were so disturbed by the commotion this one resident was causing. Some input from an outsider who's worked geriatric and adult psych for 15 years: 1. Medicate early when the person is initially showing signs of distress or ask the doctor for a standing order to proactively give if resident tends to escalate in afternoon. Maybe this has been done? Perhaps an increase or a different med is necessary??? 2. Isolate the resident bringing her to her room with a staff who can sit with her and attempt distraction. Music, sensory or comfort basket. What might she find comforting? The other residents should not have to endure screaming and yelling for an hour as you could imagine this often escalates agitation and anxiety of the other residents. Training on managing/ redirecting agitated residents is | It has come to my knowledge these comments are public and that is not my intent. My intent is for the directors and decision makers to implement systemic changes. The staff/techs are doing the best they can with what they have. Please make the above comment confidential. Thank you~

  • Apr 1, 2024

    I do appreciate all your help and support, just a bit concerned that maybe you're understaffed....

  • Mar 1, 2024

    Very friendly staff. Always in contact. Keeping my Aunt safe!

  • Mar 1, 2024

    The staff are working very hard, and we so appreciate it! Weve noticed residents in memory care do not get the same holiday fun activities and the activities are not happening in general. For example, Valentines Day, nothing happened in memory care however there was a fun party w special cupcakes in the assisted living side. If there was something similar in memory care families were not aware. I see table items out when I visit but very minimal interaction. I never see use of bowling pins, a spiritual service or sing along, art/craft etc. It is unacceptable in my opinion. The Unit needs activity aids as staff have enough with all they are already doing. There has been a highly agitated patient yelling quite often and while this is taxing to staff, which I understand from working in behavioral health for 20 years, the staff literally ignored the resident and allowed myself and other residents to try to intervene. The resident was agitated, yelling and banging on the doors, Nurse was aware. This has happened with the same resident several times and there is very little behavioral intervention such as distraction etc. Perhaps there's room for training on redirection. The resident should have been offered medication in my opinion as she was quite anxious and agitated. She has gotten in people's faces as well so I feel this should be addressed with her tx team very soon as it poses a safety issue. There is still no cable television which is a common form of relaxation and entertainment???? I'm sure the men would enjoy watching baseball soon. Appreciate any improvements a

  • Mar 1, 2024

    More staff now, Always clean, decorated nicely, Lots of activities, staff really cares!

  • Feb 1, 2024

    My aunt is safe, well fed and very comfortable. She believes Bickford is a miracle | I appreciate all of you! Thank you!!

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Overall very happy, just wish someone would have thought to get (name removed) x-rays sooner seeing that she was in pain for a week back in December. You certainly made up for it by not charging her for the time she was in rehab

  • Feb 1, 2024

    My mother in law died over a month ago. Stop sending us these | And btw learn how to spell names correctly. Very unprofessional.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Sink, Carpet, and bathroom are always dirty.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Follow through is not quick and lacking.

  • Jan 2, 2024

    Wish list items- the memory care in Crystal Lake needs a Bluetooth speaker or music player with oldies playlists. Additionally residents and family would like a t.v. in the dayroom off the dining room to watch favorite shows on regular cable such as Golden Girls and Wheel of Fortune, baseball and football games for the men. I honestly feel it's ludicrous residents do not have access to cable t.v. when they pay over $10,000 a month. But truthfully, I'd rather see you hire Activity Aids than get cable because they actually need and deserve more brain stimulation to promote more positive feelings and decrease anxiety and agitation, boredom etc.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    We get a phone call every time she falls which is nice. But there's no communication about having her use a wheelchair now. One day it was In her room and nurse said she was falling too much. Shouldnt that have been discussed with the poa? We have issued several concerns about the awful smell in her room. We r told they clean as best they can. Her care plan says she will be taken to the bathroom before and after meals and every two hours. Her pads will be changed each time. This does not happen. When we talked to (name removed) she would say she would get on the aids to do this again. It is what we r paying for and it should be a regular ongoing thing. We have met the director once when we were touring the place but have not seen or talked to her in more than a year. When our main contact left no one told us and we kept emailing her with no response. Now the main nurse has left and we had to ask who was her replacement. Many times we have been in her room and the bed is soaked with urine, there is feces on the floor and smeared on the toilet and towels r on the floor. She is supposed to get showers twice a week but if she is dressed she does not get them. She loses laundry items constantly. With her name on pants and tops how can do many be lost? Towels, 10+ pairs of pants etc have disappeared. | Oh and you have misspelled our name which is indicative of the lack of follow up.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    Wish list items- the memory care in Crystal Lake needs a Bluetooth speaker or music player with oldies playlists. Additionally residents and family would like a t.v. in the dayroom off the dining room to watch favorite shows on regular cable such as Golden Girls and Wheel of Fortune, baseball and football games for the men. I honestly feel it's ludicrous residents do not have access to cable t.v. when they pay over $10,000 a month. But truthfully, I'd rather see you hire Activity Aids than get cable because they actually need and deserve more brain stimulation to promote more positive feelings and decrease anxiety and agitation, boredom etc. | Thank you for your timeü

  • Oct 1, 2023

    My mother has lived at Bickford for two and a half years. There are only three people still on staff from when she first moved in. She is charged for the highest level of care needed as well as private pay assistance from Bickford Home-care. I pay $10,000 a month for my mother's care! Her room should be cleaned more often, the food quality should be better, the staff need to be paid better, supported and nurtured so there is less turnover. Overall quality has gone down as price has sky-rocketed. Seems like Olathe office needs to make some changes and put more of the money into the actual facilities. Sales seem more important than care...a complete 180 since she first moved in. Do better! My mother and many other vulnerable people depend on it.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Please have the staff place soiled sheets in the basket labeled "sheets only" so I can pick them up weekly and clean them. Bickford has lost too many sheets the past 5 years. Thank you...

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Crystal Lake

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)