Welcome to Bickford of Spotsylvania
Relax in your favorite chair on the porch at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Socialize with friends in the living room at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Enjoy restaurant-style meals served three times a day in our dining room at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Love your own stylist? She’s welcome to take care of you in the salon at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Hydrotherapy eases achy joints in our whirlpool at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Enjoy the outdoors in a whole new light by stepping into our secure courtyard at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Get a new lease on life with a cozy apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Residents can enjoy furniture covered in cozy fabrics in the Mary B’s living room at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Mary B’s country kitchen helps establish routines, creates activities and triggers a sense of meal time at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Curl up with a good book in the sunroom at Bickford of Spotsylvania
A single entrance courtyard gives residents with dementia the opportunity to be safe outside at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
Personalize and decorate to your unique tastes an apartment at Bickford of Spotsylvania
We’re serving up snacks, beverages and service around the clock in the bistro at Bickford of Spoytslvania

Bickford of Spotsylvania

 

Real Residents, Real Reviews

Knowing who to trust in this journey is hard — especially when your loved one’s health and happiness are at stake.

Reviews for Bickford of Spotsylvania

3.7

overall score based on 112 reviews

  • 43
  • 24
  • 18
  • 18
  • 9

Reviews with Comments

  • Jul 1, 2024

    Staff does not return calls, emails, or texts. Been working on a question for several.months, still m o answer.

  • Jun 7, 2024

    I have asked multiple times to be told whenever anything happens to my mother. Multiple times I never get a call she's had problems with her legs her feet they've been bleeding no one's ever told me. There's trouble in the cafeteria they're always eating late. She got to breakfast the other day at 5:00 to 9:00 and nobody had eaten yet. They run out of food. I have asked people in charge there to let me know what time of night they check on my mother. I've never heard back. There was a man in there one morning around 3:00 4:00. They're supposed to peek in at her and leave so they don't wake her they're just supposed to check and make sure that she is in bed. I had to hire a private nurse to come in once a week to do things for her. Mostly the laundry she misses clothes she gets other people's clothes. So we're paying $7,000 a month and I have to hire somebody to come in and take care of my mother. I feel more comfortable that she is there with my mother even though it's only one day a week

  • Jun 1, 2024

    I'm so happy with the experience my mom is having at Bickford. There are a variety of activities. The staff takes good care of her & the place is beautiful & inviting.

  • Jun 1, 2024

    Great seeing new staff ! Also I loved that there was a field trip for the memory care. That was really special and nice ! Thank you

  • May 1, 2024

    Would like follow up.

  • May 1, 2024

    The staff is very friendly and kind. From what I see they are very kind with the residents. However, mom has been very dirty the last few weeks I've visited. I know bathing can be difficult as residents can be resistant, but food has been stuck to her clothing and overall cleanliness appears lacking. A few times she has been very wet from urine. Thank you for all you do. Your work is appreciated.

  • May 1, 2024

    Great to see so many people on a shift again ! Some great new employees. Also the engagement level in Mary B's has gone up. I see the nurses doing More activities with them and I love that !

  • May 1, 2024

    The staff is great.

  • Apr 2, 2024

    (name removed) is a great addition to your place. Please give him praise for a great job. | Your welcome

  • Apr 1, 2024

    Things are improving at Bickford since Justin has become the manager. It is good to see him out interacting with the residents. Want to especially recognize (name removed) on the afternoon shift. She is always checking on the residents. When things are sometimes out of kilter she is always stepping to gat things right.

  • Apr 1, 2024

    I am Not sure why I am still getting a bill for my dad who passed away at Bickford in October ? I should have received a refund from the 29th thru the 31 for the room and for the 28 thru the 31 for the nursing care. Also he was in the hospital for 3 days in October so I should've received a nurse credit for those days also. I asked about this and have not heard back . I am being billed for half the month of November. Dad passed on the 27th of October and I turned the room back over to (name removed) on the 29th Of October We were out of the room and cleaned up on the 28th of October. If someone could get back to me on this that would be great.

  • Mar 1, 2024

    Billing problems, still sorting out care plan , hard to get an answer.

  • Mar 2, 2024

    Want to sing praises for (name removed) and efforts. Mom does complain about responses being slow at times.

  • Mar 1, 2024

    I am still waiting on feedback from her wellness visits with Gifty. And housekeeping in her apartment is still lacking. Her sheets have not been changed since January. And I did it in January. She has laundry in her closet that needs attention also.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    Too many to.list. med management, housekeeping , care plan. LACK OF RESPONSE FROM MANAHEMENT AFTER SEVRRAL WAYS tO CONTACT THEM.

  • Feb 1, 2024

    We're very happy with everyone at Bickford. I think it would be a 5 if communication about family member's health services was better. We found that oxygen levels were low, so we're told not to force walking. Knowing that sooner would have been helpful for situational awareness. Other than that, we're very pleased with service, care, etc. Thanks to all for their hard work and dedication.

  • Feb 2, 2024

    Sadly, my mother passed away two months ago and so I no longer have any dealings with Bickford. You may remove me from your monthly survey. Thank you.

  • Feb 5, 2024

    Nearly impossible to get a response from (name removed)

  • Feb 2, 2024

    I would like some feedback on my mother's health care. Who is seeing her, when are they seeing her, and what are the results? This is not the first time that I've asked for this information. Also, (with the exception of taking out trash) housekeeping in her apartment is rare and infrequent.

  • Feb 4, 2024

    "The staff at Bickford is great. They take outstanding care of my mother." (name removed)

  • Jan 2, 2024

    There is no communication between the family and bfm. The price is way too high for what you get

  • Jan 2, 2024

    The Fredericksburg Bickford is doing an outstanding job of taking care of our mother (name removed). The current Director and his staff are excellent.

  • Dec 1, 2023

    What a fantastic change I have seen in the past month. More staff ( quality people too!). The cleanliness is slowly coming back. There is good staff In the weekends. I am grateful to see it getting back to where it used to be. Thank you

  • Dec 2, 2023

    Staff 10 Procedures (daily operations)3

  • Oct 2, 2023

    I'll give you a 4. Staff works hard to provide good services, but we haven't received any email updates on events or news since May. Info only relayed by people we might bump into. Please (name removed) to your email bang list. Thank you.

  • Oct 2, 2023

    I'm still dissatisfied with the handling of the submission of the forms to the insurance company. It is not consistent and has become stressful getting notices from the insurance company almost every month that they haven't received an invoice or a monthly verification form or they have received it, but it wasn't filled out correctly or missing info.

  • Oct 1, 2023

    The communication between the office and the residence family is pretty much not existent. I have asked repeatedly to have the nursing staff let me know whenever there's been an issue with my mother and their responses well we've been very busy. The dishwasher went out again and they have been eating off of paper plates all weekend paper cups plastic silverware. Plumbers work on the weekend. Are they going to deduct money from their monthly payments because of this inconvenience? This is not the first time this has happened. There's never enough staff to help in the dining room. I sent a message to the director telling him that they had an issue a couple weekends ago he said he would look into it but I never heard back. My mother claimed that she had pushed her call Button and nobody came I asked the director to check into that because I was not happy obviously. He said it was broken and they fixed it. We pay so much money for my mother to live there I expect better than this

  • Oct 1, 2023

    Always understaffed which is troubling when impacting my fathers quality of life. | He is often wet and his room has fresh stains on carpet and strong smell of urine.

  • Sep 1, 2023

    The staff at Bickford of Spotsylvania is outstanding. Everyone works together like a close family while taking great care of our family members.

  • Aug 1, 2023

    The people that work at Bickford Spotsylvania keep the environment clean and happy. They all work extremely hard to care for all the residents, not just my Mom.

Did you know

Most senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

Know the Real Residents, Real Reviews Difference

Our Reviews

Real Residents, Real Reviews

  • From verified residents & families
  • Unfiltered
  • Solicited monthly
  • Current, ongoing & up-to-date

Other Reviews

Google, A Place for Mom, etc.

  • Can be written by anyone
  • Often come from people who don’t actually live there (i.e. just came for a tour)
  • Reflect a static, one-time experience
  • Partial picture

Why other senior living communities don’t share internal reviews

  • Most communities don’t solicit reviews on a monthly basis. Most surveys are annual and used for internal purposes only.
  • They’re caring for a frail, vulnerable population 24/7/365. Healthcare, by its very nature, can be messy, especially when you’re on around the clock. Service failures are almost inevitable in this context.
  • They know that some of the comments aren’t necessarily accurate
  • They don’t have the courage to be vulnerable. They want to control how prospective families see them.
  • They’re afraid it would hurt their sales and marketing efforts
  • They don’t trust the consumer to be able to handle the truth

Did you know

Bickford Senior Living’s happiness score is 2x the national average

Reviews FAQ

Bickford residents and families have frequent opportunities to participate in providing feedback throughout the year. Bickford sends out a comprehensive annual survey evaluating all aspects of a residents experience. Following this survey, Bickford sends out a monthly survey to see if we are making progress on improving their happiness levels. The responses to both surveys are posted on the website and remain there for a year.

Bickford is committed to transparency. That means posting all feedback – both positive and negative. Every review is included in our overall score (star-rating). However, we do not post comments that are libelous, profane or risk violating the privacy of our residents.

A Bickford Verified Resident Review is a review provided by a resident or family member/significant other that has been verified by Bickford as an authorized individual. Individual names are protected for privacy reasons.

Bickford has developed a program to improve resident happiness based specifically on the scores and comments of the surveys. Each Branch sets goals to improve targeted areas identified from the surveys. The actions that need to be taken are discussed as a part of each shifts daily stand-up meeting.

Due to the unique and personalized nature of our business, responses to reviews, if requested, happen individually.

Bickford of Spotsylvania

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Contact Us

Name(Required)